Thread: Question for Interior Designers out there

Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Login to Give a bone

Default Question for Interior Designers out there

Hello all,
    I am an interior design student in her first AutoCAD class. We have been asked to do some research on how Interior designers are using CAD in the real world. As someone new to the program, after taking a traditional drafting course, I am finding it slightly frustrating and also hard to imagine what my CAD responsibilities would be as a designer. I understand fully how useful this program can be in terms of creating construction drawings, but besides showing elevations and helping to develop plans for the interior layout, what does a designer use this program for on a daily basis?

Thanks so much for your help!
    Jen

Login to Give a bone

Default Re: Question for Interior Designers out there

my limited experience with interior designers has been about what you described. they did elevations, one or two soffit details and an RCP - all of which i ended up having to correct anyways. i think one of the best ways to find out would be to either get an intern job with a design firm, or just call them and explain that you are a student and that you are not sure exactly what use cad plays in the profession. your school will have contacts in the field that could help you out.

and welcome to augi

Digital Delivery Director Brian Myers's Avatar
    Login to Give a bone

Material take-offs can be pretty big. In programs like Revit they allow you to schedule virtually anything in the space, allowing for quick and easy take-offs of virtually everything from seating counts in auditoriums to scheduling material finishes in every space. Point being, CAD programs may be used much for the "artistic" parts of this, but they also can be much more dynamic than creating CD's. Even without Revit, you can have attributes inside AutoCAD that can aid in this process if used properly.