Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: ACAD Arch. or Revit Arch to use with 3DS MAX?

Login to Give a bone

Default ACAD Arch. or Revit Arch to use with 3DS MAX?

I am trying to figure out whether I should go with Autocad Architecture 2008 or Revit Architecture 2008 to re-create buildings (mostly house floor plans) to then export for rendering in 3DS MAX for visualization.

Between these two tools, which would be the most flexible in terms of design / re-creation of the floor plans? Although one tool may be more flexible, how about the learning curve? I have some experience with AutoCAD but not enough where learning a new tool would be bad.

How do these two products handle cabinets and custom stairs? I will need to create a library of custom cabinets (doors and drawers styles). Can both these tools enable me to do that fairly easily?

and lastly, which one plays better (so to speak) with 3DS MAX?

(I presume there are posts about this around somewhere but thus far I haven't been able to find them. If these questions have been answered before, could you please point me to those threads

Thanks

Login to Give a bone

Default Re: ACAD Arch. or Revit Arch to use with 3DS MAX?

I can only speak of the Revit side. I worked for years with an AutoCAD to Max workflow, then switched for the last few years to a Revit to Max workflow and love it. I've found Revit to be a dream for most modeling tasks and really only a challenge for organic forms. If you search in the Revit forums and Revit Gallery you'll see lots of additional information. I've also posted several examples of Revit+Max work in the gallery which might help you.

Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Login to Give a bone

Hello
    I am am working with ADT and MAX work flow. NOw i am exploring the the strengths of parametric modelling and data base capabilities of Revit Arch.