See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Voids in Concrete Beams

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2006-11
    Posts
    12
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Voids in Concrete Beams

    Is there a video tutorial out there for using the Void Extrusions in Revit Structure? I'm fairly new to Revit. I've been putting together concrete pan joist building. I need to cut a piece out of the top of a concrete beam to allow for a recessed area. For the life of me I can't seem to get the Void extrusion to work. Maybe another method would be better. I have used the cut profile on slabs but that doesn't work on the concrete beams. Any advise would be appreciated.

  2. #2
    Count (Formula) dbaldacchino's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-07
    Location
    Missouri City, Texas (Houston area)
    Posts
    3,242
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Voids in Concrete Beams

    You have to put the void inside the beam family. Then add parameters so you can flex the size of your void from the project, if that's desirable. You cannot cut beams with voids that are placed in the project environment.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2006-11
    Posts
    12
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Voids in Concrete Beams

    Thanks David for the quick response. I'll head that direction.

  4. #4
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2004-11
    Posts
    116
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Voids in Concrete Beams

    nice work dbaldacchino....but if you have many holes...I thing inplace is the solution..

    Why is that the penetrations of beams are always perpendicular to the face?
    This should be improved..

  5. #5
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2003-11
    Location
    Sutton Surrey United Kingdom
    Posts
    238
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Voids in Concrete Beams

    Mechanical Engineers just love to make you form holes on beams, usually at the last minute on site...

    Hey if we all use a BIM system that might not happen!

  6. #6
    AUGI Addict Andre Carvalho's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-06
    Location
    Toronto, ON
    Posts
    2,386
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Voids in Concrete Beams

    Quote Originally Posted by Alvin_Alejandro View Post
    nice work dbaldacchino....but if you have many holes...I thing inplace is the solution..

    Why is that the penetrations of beams are always perpendicular to the face?
    This should be improved..
    Add as many holes as necessary in the family and add parameters to control them. If they are the same, array them and then you can control the number of holes too. If you add a parameter for the extrusion lenght of the void you can control which ones are cutting the beam and which ones are not.

    Andre Carvalho

  7. #7
    Count (Formula) dbaldacchino's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-07
    Location
    Missouri City, Texas (Houston area)
    Posts
    3,242
    1 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Voids in Concrete Beams

    The original question was specifically about voids. You cannot do "in-place" and cut a beam like that. You have to locate the void inside the beam family.

    A better option to make openings on the fly is by using the new "Opening by Face" tool. Use voids in the family (and perhaps parameterize them) only if you have a lot of repetition, such as if you're creating the same beam over and over and it has the same opening/s, or you're doing a castellated/cellular beam, etc.

  8. #8
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2002-08
    Posts
    50
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Voids in Concrete Beams

    I'd agree with Dave. For beams with a "notch" or "ledge" it makes sense to copy and modify the concrete beam family. Although these notches or ledges can only follow the entire profile of the sweep.

    On the other hand if you have notches or ledges that do not follow the entire length of the
    beam your best bet is the opening by face.

    *Autodesk* would be smart to put some work into joining of concrete beams and creating these beam families with notches and ledges out of the box. Since I'm sure everyone is using different parameter names for these.........

    Openings are interesting:

    If you have a beam and pan joist (and slab) system it would be nice to use the shaft
    opening tool for openings. Unfortunately the shaft opening doesn't cut beams. If you
    use the opening by face tool, you'll have to have one opening in the face of the slab and
    another opening in the face of the slab.....

    *Autodesk* would be smart to put some work into the shaft tool to make it cut concrete beams.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    2009-04
    Posts
    2
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Voids in Concrete Beams

    Any update on this for 2010?

    Or is the only option to deal with setdowns in top of beams to create the void in the family.

    Cheers

  10. #10
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2008-04
    Posts
    270
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Voids in Concrete Beams

    You can create a beam family that is a void, place this family in your project in the plane you want the void or set down to be and then use the cut geometry tool to cut the beam.
    Regards

    Glenn

    Check out my blog - http://revitst.blogspot.com/

Similar Threads

  1. Concrete Beams with Toe
    By AJBuckers in forum Revit Structure - Families
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2010-05-26, 02:56 AM
  2. voids in concrete with 3d path???
    By mmcfadden in forum Revit Structure - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2008-05-23, 08:31 PM
  3. Better control of concrete beams
    By Revit Wishes in forum Revit Architecture - Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2007-12-15, 03:31 PM
  4. Tagging Concrete Beams
    By paullee in forum Revit Structure - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2007-02-09, 03:53 PM
  5. Concrete Beams (i wish)
    By jakob_k in forum ACA Wish List
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2007-02-05, 07:32 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •