Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: acad.pgp file doesn't load properly

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Posts
    35
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default acad.pgp file doesn't load properly

    I have had my own pgp file for years and suddenly it doesn't load properly
    I only have one acad.pgp file on my computer (I renamed Autodesk's file).
    I have my pgp file's folder at the top of my files: search path list.
    Somehow I get the default shortcut list (ie c for circle)
    Using the notebook, find file tip (mentioned in other posts) returns the correct folder and file.
    The Reinit command doesn't change anything.
    I don't have any custom startup items.
    I don't have any third party software loaded.
    Any ideas why this happens?

  2. #2
    Wish List Manager BrenBren's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    150700
    Posts
    3,424
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: acad.pgp file doesn't load properly

    Quote Originally Posted by huntbh View Post
    I have had my own pgp file for years and suddenly it doesn't load properly
    I only have one acad.pgp file on my computer (I renamed Autodesk's file).
    I have my pgp file's folder at the top of my files: search path list.
    Somehow I get the default shortcut list (ie c for circle)
    Using the notebook, find file tip (mentioned in other posts) returns the correct folder and file.
    The Reinit command doesn't change anything.
    I don't have any custom startup items.
    I don't have any third party software loaded.
    Any ideas why this happens?

    If you open the acad.pgp file as a text file, do your custom aliases show up?

  3. #3
    Certifiable AUGI Addict tedg's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    in the upper right corner
    Posts
    2,612
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: acad.pgp file doesn't load properly

    Quote Originally Posted by huntbh View Post
    I have had my own pgp file for years and suddenly it doesn't load properly
    I only have one acad.pgp file on my computer (I renamed Autodesk's file).
    I have my pgp file's folder at the top of my files: search path list.
    Somehow I get the default shortcut list (ie c for circle)
    Using the notebook, find file tip (mentioned in other posts) returns the correct folder and file.
    The Reinit command doesn't change anything.
    I don't have any custom startup items.
    I don't have any third party software loaded.
    Any ideas why this happens?
    You tried the (startapp "notepad" (findfile "acad.pgp")) while in your application?
    Were your custom aliasess's (aliai ?) in there?
    Ted
    ____________________________________________________________________________________
    AutoCAD 2013 - REVIT Structure 2013 & 2014 - MicroStation V8i - Windows 7 Professional - (dabble with Inventor Professional 2013)

  4. #4
    I could stop if I wanted to andy.manninen's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-12
    Location
    @ _ork
    Posts
    304
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: acad.pgp file doesn't load properly

    Have you had a newer version of ACAD installed?
    This brings up a good point for a reminder to all CAD users, if you modify your ACAD.pgp put your changes to the bottom of the file so when you get a new version of cad you can just copy your edits from your old PGP file to the bottom of the newer version PGP file. If you transfer the whole file then things will go wonky. I just checked my old 2005 PGP and compared it to my new 2008 PGP file, the setup has very different calls for pretty much every item.

    :Cheers:
    Andrew Manninen
    CAD Manager

    The man who smiles when things go wrong has thought of someone to blame it on. - Robert Bloch

  5. #5
    Certified AUGI Addict rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    8,091
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: acad.pgp file doesn't load properly

    Quote Originally Posted by andy.manninen View Post
    This brings up a good point for a reminder to all CAD users, if you modify your ACAD.pgp put your changes to the bottom of the file so when you get a new version of cad you can just copy your edits from your old PGP file to the bottom of the newer version PGP file.
    Another way to approach this problem is to just not edit the PGP file at all. Add your shortcuts to the user defined "acaddoc.lsp" file, as a lisp function. This file is portable between versions without having to copy/paste anything to/from PGP files.

    Example shortcut function, defines ZP
    Code:
    (defun c:zp ()
      (command "._zoom" "_P")
    )

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Posts
    35
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: acad.pgp file doesn't load properly

    Thank you for your replies.

    I looked at the bottom of the file and found the list of original shortcuts.
    I saw that in previous threads, but didn't think I needed to look there.
    I don't know how they got there, but after removing them I am back in my comfort zone.

  7. #7
    All AUGI, all the time Richard.Kent's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-01
    Location
    Albuquerque, NM, USA
    Posts
    621
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: acad.pgp file doesn't load properly

    I agree, I haven't changed the PGP for 10 years or more. So much easier to have your own lsp file to load that stuff and it moves that much easier to the next upgrade.

Similar Threads

  1. Window constrained to core doesn't flip properly
    By dennis_swihart in forum Revit Architecture - Families
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2009-08-06, 02:31 PM
  2. DXF file won't load in ACAD
    By jwongmep in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2008-08-08, 07:08 PM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2006-10-02, 03:07 PM
  4. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2005-07-12, 06:31 AM
  5. Filled region doesn't work properly in wall based family
    By A3D in forum Revit Architecture - Families
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2005-06-28, 03:08 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •