See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: crop raster images?

  1. #1
    100 Club jessica.146534's Avatar
    Join Date
    2007-08
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    170
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default crop raster images?

    does anyone know how to crop an imported raster image? i have an oddly shaped addition that we're putting on an existing building and i'd like to show the new elevation (rendered image is a .jpg) with the existing building (revit model) behind it. but the image comes in as a rectangle so the background of the image masks the model. i tried using masking regions to get rid of the image background but that masks the existing elevation too. any ideas?

  2. #2
    I could stop if I wanted to mruehr's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-01
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    223
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: crop raster images?

    i would but the image on a drafting sheet and use Making regions
    if your crop is to complex Photoshop and import again

  3. #3
    AUGI Addict andrewg's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Location
    Waterville, Maine
    Posts
    1,748
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: crop raster images?

    Not sure if this will give you the desired result, but try selecting the image, and set it to "background" in the drop down menu above.

    Then change your view to wireframe, and by activating and moving your far clip plane (and by turning things off that you don't want to show), you might get something that'll work.

  4. #4
    100 Club jessica.146534's Avatar
    Join Date
    2007-08
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    170
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: crop raster images?

    ok i tried both of your suggestions but nothing worked.

    when i made the new drafting view and added masking regions, the masking regions mask the building in the background so i don't get the effect of the addition in front of the existing building. and when i tried to crop the image in photoshop and re-import it into revit, it still comes in as a rectangle (all that cropping work didn't come with the image)

    i though the wireframe idea might work but there are so many elements to turn on/off that it's a very daunting task. it got to the point where i was just using linework to redraw the visible elements of the building beyond.

    i think i'm going to try playing around more with the photoshop end since revit doesn't seem to be working the way i want it. maybe i can overlap the images in photoshop and just import that as a jpg into revit.

    thanks for the help though!

  5. #5
    100 Club jessica.146534's Avatar
    Join Date
    2007-08
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    170
    1 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: crop raster images?

    i figured out how to get this to work so i thought i'd pass it along.

    apparently jpgs do not have transparent backgrounds (obviously i'm not very image file savvy) so they won't work. i saved my images as PNG files and cropped them in photoshop with a transparent background and they worked just like i wanted in revit!

  6. #6
    I could stop if I wanted to cosmickingpin's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-05
    Location
    North of the 49th
    Posts
    476
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: crop raster images?

    I nominate this for "tip of the week"

    Quote Originally Posted by jessica.146534 View Post
    i figured out how to get this to work so i thought i'd pass it along.

    apparently jpgs do not have transparent backgrounds (obviously i'm not very image file savvy) so they won't work. i saved my images as PNG files and cropped them in photoshop with a transparent background and they worked just like i wanted in revit!

Similar Threads

  1. Raster Images
    By STHRevit in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2009-09-13, 11:22 PM
  2. Raster images via PDF via Oce
    By etornberg in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2007-06-13, 04:31 AM
  3. cant crop raster image on sheet
    By jwilhelm in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2006-10-18, 07:41 PM
  4. Maybe crop regions shouldn't affect images
    By Wes Macaulay in forum Revit Architecture - Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2006-01-30, 05:58 PM
  5. Raster Images
    By Exar Kun in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2004-10-27, 12:07 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •