Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Telephone/Data Jack symbol?

  1. #1
    "Rock-n-Roll Architect" SCShell's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-01
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    1,272
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Question Telephone/Data Jack symbol?

    Hi there,

    I could not find a typical telephone jack stubbed. (simple triangle, open for existing, solid black fill for new)
    I created a new wall hosted "existing" family for them by modifying the duplex recept; however, I could not figure out how to do a solid black color fill within the triangle for my second "new" family. Any suggestions?
    (I did find a nice work around after I placed the open symbol on the plan and used the filled region to get the black fill, then just copied it to the various locations needed.) After that, I tried to copy and paste the filled one to the family editor and got the error message that I can
    not copy from the model to the family editor. (I could have sworn I saw somewhere that I could!)

    Thanks in advance,
    Steve Shell

  2. #2
    AUGI Addict sfaust's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-01
    Location
    Littleton, CO (Denver Metro)
    Posts
    1,532
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Telephone/Data Jack symbol?

    create a generic annotation for the triangle. this will allow you to have a filled region. - linked the filled region visibility to a yes/no parameter (called "new" probably). Then nest this annotation into the wall based family and make a yes/no parameter in the wall based family (probably with the same name) and link the parameter from the annotation to it. Then you will have a wall based family that allows you to turn the fill on or off.

    Remember that the annotation will scale with the view, so you will probably have to lock it to the wall face for it to look correct.
    Steve

  3. #3
    All AUGI, all the time BomberAIA's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Location
    Boca Raton, FL
    Posts
    651
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Talking Re: Telephone/Data Jack symbol?

    There is one on the Autodesk Revit Content Library.

  4. #4
    "Rock-n-Roll Architect" SCShell's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-01
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    1,272
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Telephone/Data Jack symbol?

    Quote Originally Posted by BomberAIA
    There is one on the Autodesk Revit Content Library.
    Thanks Bomber, I keep forgetting agout that after using RUGI and RevitCity all the time!
    Thanks Steve for that info. I will try it.

    Thanks again. Is this forum great, or what?!
    Steve Shell

Similar Threads

  1. Jack of all trades
    By Slipknot in forum BIM Management - General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2011-04-12, 08:55 PM
  2. Data Telephone Outlet Parametric
    By anthony.67953 in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2011-03-09, 05:22 PM
  3. My telephone
    By rajeev.vishwakarma in forum AutoCAD Gallery
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2010-07-26, 03:15 AM
  4. Looking for a Block of a telephone handset
    By tskelton in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2007-04-09, 10:04 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •