Thread: Crane Rail Beam Family

Login to Give a bone

Default Crane Rail Beam Family

I'm trying to model a crane rail. The rail itself consists of 3 components: W24, C12, and a 60# rail. (see attached pdf file). The W24 and the C12, of course, are a piece-a-cake. But the shape for the 60# rail is going to have to be created. Someone suggested that I create the appropriate profile and then use the railing command with that profile. However, it seems to me that you can create a new beam family. I could either create a beam family just for the rail, or I could created a nested family and include all three elements as shown in the attached pdf (created in AutoCAD Architecture).

QUESTION is . . . how do I create a Beam Family? I've been trying to read the Help stuff and tutorials and so on, but I haven't been able to quiet figure it out yet. I could use a good tutorial or something.

By the way . . . . I'm a Revit Structure ROOKIE.
    Attached Files Attached Files

100 Club
    Login to Give a bone

Default Re: Crane Rail Beam Family

Now the book I'm getting this from says Sep 30, 1969 so let me know.

It shows three types pf rails, Rail Section No. 17551, 13551, and 10551. Three different profiles and no variations.

With this in mind I would create three separate profiles files (you can bring in your autocad block and pick off of it if you have one). An easy way is to open the beam family and replace the wide flange profile with the rail profile.

Login to Give a bone

Quote Originally Posted by Thomas Maleski View Post
    . . .easy way is to open the beam family and replace the wide flange profile with the rail profile.