Thread: Formula Help

ACA/AMEP Community Chair stelthorst's Avatar
    Login to Give a bone

Default Formula Help

Hi All,

I've been driving myself crazy with this one. (I know not a very long drive)

Let's say I have 3 strings

AABBBBCC
    AABBBBCCC
    AABBBBCCCC

What I want is a PSD that subtracts the AABBBB from each string and returns the results:

CC
    CCC
    CCCC

I can do a Left function and isolate the AABBBB but I can't figure out how to subtract this result from the string.

What I want to do is something like:

MyString - Left(MyString,6) but this doesn't work.

Any suggestions?
    Scott Telthorst
    Quality Control Manager
    Helix Electric, Inc.
    www.helixelectric.com

Some see the glass as half full, others as half empty. As an engineer I see the glass as twice as big as it needs to be. ~Unknown~

Login to Give a bone

Default Re: Formula Help

If you "know" the string you want to "subtract" or at least know you want to get rid of the first six characters (as opposed to taking three strings and trying to find a substring that all three have in common), you could use the Replace function, and replace the known string with an empty string.

Replace( MyString, Left( MyString, 6 ), "") should work in your case.

If all you want to do is delete the first six characters of a string of variable length, then

Right ( MyString, Len( MyString ) - 6 )

should also work.

Login to Give a bone

Quote Originally Posted by dkoch View Post
    If you "know" the string you want to "subtract" or at least know you want to get rid of the first six characters (as opposed to taking three strings and trying to find a substring that all three have in common), you could use the Replace function, and replace the known string with an empty string.

Replace( MyString, Left( MyString, 6 ), "") should work in your case.

If all you want to do is delete the first six characters of a string of variable length, then

Right ( MyString, Len( MyString ) - 6 )