Thread: Loads, Schedules and other frustrations

Login to Give a bone

Default Loads, Schedules and other frustrations

I'm new to Revit, I work for a structural engineering firm, and am running into dead ends within forums seeking information, tips and examples.

Here are the issues.

1. Is Revit an all-in-one tool for creating a model and exporting drawings and schedules or do I have to revert back to AutoCad for some areas (not ideal)?

2. Consider that the Architects, Structural engineers and contractors are all using Revit. Where would I input and store design loads for each column and beam so that the information on each member is easily accessible? And how do I set up my schedule to show this information?

I understand that these are very broad questions, however I have yet to find a comprehensive resource to answer them.

Thanks

Scott

Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Login to Give a bone

Default Re: Loads, Schedules and other frustrations

Another newbie here.

Revit Structure works with a thrid party finite element modeling program to solve structural systems. There are about half a dozen companies which will analyze the data from the Revit Model. They are listed on the Autodesk website.

Im test driving Robobat ( now a part of the Autodesk family) as the analysis program. Once a model is exported from Revit to say Robobat, the load cases, combinations and such can be fine tuned. Revit loading options include point, line and area.