Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Schedule Filter

  1. #1
    All AUGI, all the time ford347's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-01
    Location
    Oroville, CA
    Posts
    868
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Schedule Filter

    I have created a number of generic model families and have used shared parameters so they will schedule the way we want. I want to be able to filter by family or family and type and noticed that these are not availiable to filter by?? I then swithced the family type to something diff., like a structural framing family, same thing?

    Can you not filter by family or family type? This seems a bit odd. I have a number of generic model families I am using for wall framing, since we are a framing company and we are producing wall panel drawings for walls built off site. I have families for studs, blocking etc. I will have diff. schedules to accomodate these diff. items. It seems as though I will now have to introduce a seemingly worthless parameter as a placeholder to indicate whether or not the family I am scheduling is a stud, block etc. When the name of the family could do this just fine.

    Anyway, I guess I was not aware of this limitation, unless I'm missing something.

    Thanks
    Josh

  2. #2
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2006-03
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    810
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Schedule Filter

    Nope. You can't filter by Family name or Type. It's stupid in the extreme. Type Mark is the sensible parameter to use for type filtering.

  3. #3
    All AUGI, all the time ford347's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-01
    Location
    Oroville, CA
    Posts
    868
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Schedule Filter

    Wow. Wierd. If this were possible, it would make it much easier to seperate items in schedules. Thanks for the reply.\

    Josh

  4. #4
    AUGI Addict jsteinhauer's Avatar
    Join Date
    2007-09
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    1,247
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Lightbulb Re: Schedule Filter

    Quote Originally Posted by ford347 View Post
    Wow. Wierd. If this were possible, it would make it much easier to seperate items in schedules. Thanks for the reply.\

    Josh
    Hey Josh,

    I have added an equipment number parameter to most of my lab families. Then when I schedule my equipment, I filter out anything that doesn't have that parameter. One way to do it.

    Jeff S.

  5. #5
    All AUGI, all the time ford347's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-01
    Location
    Oroville, CA
    Posts
    868
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Schedule Filter

    Thanks Jeff. Yeah, I created a similar parameter specific to what I'm doing. It is a text parameter that you would type in Stud, Block, Plate or any number of things, so that you can create a scheudule seperatly for each of those items. It is actually working fine.

    Josh

  6. #6
    Member andrewharle's Avatar
    Join Date
    2008-01
    Location
    Harrow, UK
    Posts
    48
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Schedule Filter

    Quote Originally Posted by tomnewsom View Post
    Nope. You can't filter by Family name or Type. It's stupid in the extreme...
    Jus found this out for myself, and I'm not amused. What possesses programmers to add all these undesirable anomalies to the way Revit works, it seems to be riddled with them!

    Why can't Autodesk programmers just keep it simple instead.
    Andy Harle
    Revit 2014 windows 7 64 bit

Similar Threads

  1. Schedule Filter
    By antman in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2011-12-02, 04:21 PM
  2. Filter Schedule by Workset??
    By Overconstrained in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2010-10-14, 08:55 PM
  3. Use OR in a Schedule filter
    By a.mcphee in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2009-06-05, 12:23 PM
  4. Wall schedule - Filter
    By papurajx in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2004-12-15, 02:15 AM
  5. Filter in Schedule problem
    By Nevine in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2004-04-24, 03:25 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •