Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Disclaimer Dialog Box???

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2008-01
    Posts
    9
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Disclaimer Dialog Box???

    Is there a way to make a dialog box appear when opening a drawing?

    I need the dialog box to contain some disclaimer text.

    Any thoughts our ideas would be appreciated.

  2. #2
    Certifiable AUGI Addict dzatto's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-12
    Location
    Big "D"
    Posts
    3,711
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Disclaimer Dialog Box???

    Quote Originally Posted by tmichaud View Post
    Is there a way to make a dialog box appear when opening a drawing?

    I need the dialog box to contain some disclaimer text.

    Any thoughts our ideas would be appreciated.
    That would be cool. The only thing I've seen that comes close is freeze all the layers, and write a disclaimer on one that says something like if you thaw the drawing to use it, we are not responsible for it's contents, etc,etc.
    Have the drawing saved so that shows when they open it. Then they thaw the layers and use it.

  3. #3
    Certifiable AUGI Addict ccowgill's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-08
    Location
    Iron Station, NC
    Posts
    3,198
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Disclaimer Dialog Box???

    how do you want it called? if it is based on content in the drawing, this should work:
    Code:
    (defun c:disclaimer (/ ss)
    (if (setq ss (ssget "_X" '((some filter))))
    (alert "some message")
    );end if
    );end defun
    put it in your acaddoc.lsp, the only problem is, for the disclaimer to appear, the program has to be loaded. If you are sending the drawings out, I dont believe there is a way to get it to show a box on another companies computer.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    2008-01
    Posts
    9
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Disclaimer Dialog Box???

    Yeah, I need it to appear in a drawing that i send out.

    Sounds like a wish list item!

  5. #5
    Certified AUGI Addict cadtag's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Cairo - no, not Illinois
    Posts
    5,069
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Disclaimer Dialog Box???

    It's possible -- using VBA and a macro that's embedded in the drawing and set to autorun. essentially you'll be writing a VBA virus that doesn't propogate to other drawings. One step up from malware.....

  6. #6
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2003-10
    Posts
    706
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Disclaimer Dialog Box???

    Quote Originally Posted by cadtag View Post
    It's possible -- using VBA and a macro that's embedded in the drawing and set to autorun. essentially you'll be writing a VBA virus that doesn't propogate to other drawings. One step up from malware.....
    A: is this considered illegal in any way and..
    B. how do you do that? I can write VBA programs all day but how would you embed it and make it autorun on open?

Similar Threads

  1. Drawing disclaimer for exported dwg files
    By m.thomas in forum Revit - In Practice
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2009-06-09, 02:44 AM
  2. Disclaimer
    By Bryan Thatcher in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2009-03-26, 08:43 PM
  3. Digital Drawing Disclaimer
    By sarah.campden in forum CAD Standards
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2008-04-16, 12:17 PM
  4. Adding a disclaimer to a drawing.
    By stelthorst in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 2005-12-19, 10:21 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •