Search the Community

Ask, Learn and Solve

The AUGI forums are an online community where AUGI members
can discuss what they use everyday,
Autodesk Design Software!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Proxy Entity


  • Thread Tools
  • Display
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Posts
    26


    Default Proxy Entity

    Does anyone know how to explode or convert a block reference that has ACAD-PROXY-ENTITY inside it. When I explode it, I lose all the graphics. Getting very frustrated on what to do, tried WBlock out but I only get part of it. I think it may also have a block inside the block that contains the Entity.

  2. #2
    The Silent Type
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    2,337


    Default Re: Proxy Entity

    I think the only way to get the underlying
    geometry would be to have the original
    application that generated the ARX Object.
    Then using the Export to AutoCAD function
    to export out simplified cad objects so that
    the end user of those objects is not dealing
    with proxy objects. Some of this problem is
    resolved by having the correct object enablers
    installed.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Posts
    26


    Default Re: Proxy Entity

    Yeah I know that I have the correct enablers but all they do is create the Proxy-Entity do show the graphic, the enabler does not conver the object to a CAD entity, polyline. etc...I'll ask if the client can export to AutoCAD. Thanks for the response.

  4. #4
    The Silent Type
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    2,337


    Default Re: Proxy Entity

    Note, what you observe is the designed function
    of the object enabler, you can see the object the
    other application created, only you have no real
    functionality with the object outside of it's native
    application.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Posts
    26


    Default Re: Proxy Entity

    I just received a reply from our client and they are using LDT3. I'm not familiar with this software, is there and Export to AutoCAD function inside this? Otherwise I guess my proxy's will be permanent.

  6. #6
    The Silent Type
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    2,337


    Default Re: Proxy Entity

    Yes,

    Depending on the proxy objects you are having issues with
    the user could simplify, some of them without use of the export function.

    What objects are the problem ones? Contours? He could create them as polylines for you.
    Points? Not quite as easy.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Posts
    26


    Default Re: Proxy Entity

    Yes they are contours. I'm not sure if he is technical enough to do this though. What steps does he need to do to create the contours as polylines instead of Proxy's

  8. #8
    The Silent Type
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    2,337


    Default Re: Proxy Entity

    Options for this are;

    Send me some contact information for that user.

    Send me the data, and I will convert.

    Or have the user recreate the contours in his file
    and select poly lines NOT contour objects while doing so.

    For ease of integrating his work with yours in the future
    the contact information method should prove more useful
    to the both of you.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Posts
    26


    Default Re: Proxy Entity

    I have attached a drawing that contains the block in the middle in white that contains the proxy entity. Thanks for your help. What is your email address in case he has any problems creating polylines instead of contours?
    Attached Files Attached Files

  10. #10
    The Silent Type
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    2,337


    Default Re: Proxy Entity

    mjfarrell@earthlink.net

    Here is the data as AutoCAD objects not proxies.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by mjfarrell; 2004-09-09 at 06:29 PM.

  • Thread Tools
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. 2011: ACAD PROXY ENTITY
    By pkumor in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2012-08-08, 05:45 PM
  2. AutoCad Proxy Entity
    By cchavez in forum CAD Management - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2011-01-31, 01:25 PM
  3. AcmSymBB Proxy Entity
    By bshah in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2010-06-02, 08:07 PM
  4. ACAD Proxy Entity to 3D solid/mesh?
    By james120479 in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2009-07-21, 02:50 PM
  5. Proxy Entity Code 310 to Normal Entity
    By KevinBarnett in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2005-05-26, 07:21 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •