Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Imported CAD file is not to scale in Revit

  1. #1
    Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Join Date
    2008-05
    Posts
    1
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Imported CAD file is not to scale in Revit

    hello all,

    first project using revit from start to end, and am feeling more comfortable with things, but
    i am having some issues with the scaling things between programs:

    1) i have site drawing from cad imported and started constructing the building off of the drawing--knowing that in cad the dimensions are correct--only to find out that the imported drawing is the correct scale in one direction and stretched slightly in another[the length of the building is correct but the width is stretched longer than the original drawing]

    i went back and i checked the accuracy of the dwg file and it was correct. re-imported it and issue still exists.


    2)i have a 3d object that i downloaded from sketchup. i exported the sketchup model to autocad and all was well...scale is correct...
    created a generic mass family and then loaded into project. the scale of the object was HUGE...i tried to scale it down by editing the family and did not change.

    suggestions?

  2. #2
    I could stop if I wanted to Teresa.Martin's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-11
    Posts
    438
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Imported CAD file is not to scale in Revit

    Hi! I am not sure exactly what may be causing this, but have you checked the origin location in the CAD file? If the original CAD file is too far away from the origin in Autocad, some stretching does occur in some instances. I am not too sure why it would not happen to sketch up imports. I know Revit likes things closer to the origin and does have an out to out limit which is why it defaults to center to center when importing.
    Best regards,
    Teresa Martin
    Senior Application Specialist, IdeateInc

    Ideate on Youtube! http://www.youtube.com/user/IdeateInc
    Ideate Solutions blogs! http://ideatesolutions.blogspot.com/

    Check out my blog: http://bimnewworld.blogspot.com

  3. #3
    Count (Formula) dbaldacchino's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-07
    Location
    Missouri City, Texas (Houston area)
    Posts
    3,243
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Imported CAD file is not to scale in Revit

    Check your units. If 1 unit in the dwg is 1 foot for example, Revit might interpret it as 1". Revit typically recognizes the units, but I have come across cases where it doesn't, and so I specify the units myself when linking/importing.

  4. #4
    Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Join Date
    2014-04
    Posts
    2
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Imported CAD file is not to scale in Revit

    Same issue here - did anyone ever figure this out?

Similar Threads

  1. Surface Section with Imported Revit File
    By r7_human8y in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - Sections
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2011-11-28, 08:42 AM
  2. Visability in host file of DWG objects imported into a linked file
    By Duncan Lithgow in forum Revit - In Practice
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2011-11-01, 08:43 AM
  3. Keynoting a linked or Imported AutoCAD File in Revit
    By hgrigel in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2010-03-08, 09:20 PM
  4. Section through an imported .DWG file
    By diesellam in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2009-04-09, 04:41 PM
  5. dwg file saved in 3rd party software imported to Revit 2009 Architecture
    By diesellam in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2009-01-28, 10:44 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •