Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 28 of 28

Thread: Post-Tension Cable Idea for Revit! (wish)

  1. #21
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2006-05
    Posts
    835
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Post-Tension Cable Idea for Revit! (wish)

    I would use one of the examples and mirror the live end to the other side.

    Same with couplings or something of that nature.
    AJS
    BIMM Consultant
    www.GHD.com

  2. #22
    Member
    Join Date
    2008-05
    Posts
    10
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Post-Tension Cable Idea for Revit! (wish)

    Yes, the way it currently works (for me at least) is to draw separate "cables" and tie them together, either by overlaying the tails or by linking them with splines if they are not colinear. The main problem is still that you can't check interferences with reinforcement or openings.

    The other issue I had was showing the extents. We used a double-ended leader with a circle on the PT cable to indicate this in AutoCAD, in Revit I use a blank leader family I found online combined with detail lines used as witness lines. It's a bit of a kludge, but it works for now.

  3. #23
    Member
    Join Date
    2010-05
    Posts
    2
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Post-Tension Cable Idea for Revit! (wish)

    +1 for detail components, tried to make a 3D one early on in the piece but just too diabloical and complex, stability was an issue so I made a set of detail components, also line based but with certain functionality in buily, sucs as minimum edge distances etc, work fine... to a point, would dearly love to be able to do 3D tendons to eliminate the detail work that invariably must be done after...

    that IS why we use revit yes? to eliminate all the manual **** we used to deal with?

  4. #24
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2006-05
    Posts
    835
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Post-Tension Cable Idea for Revit! (wish)

    You can with Adpative Components, the power here is awesome and 3D PT cables work very well indeed with this set up.
    AJS
    BIMM Consultant
    www.GHD.com

  5. #25
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2008-04
    Posts
    270
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Post-Tension Cable Idea for Revit! (wish)

    Have you seen the attached hand out from AU 2010?

    The presentation is too big a file to upload, but can be downloaded from the AU website.

    http://au.autodesk.com/?nd=blaug&rss_data_id=26285
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Regards

    Glenn

    Check out my blog - http://revitst.blogspot.com/

  6. #26
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2006-05
    Posts
    835
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Post-Tension Cable Idea for Revit! (wish)

    Yeah but the gaphic controls and placement aren't totally ideal, tend to bulk the file size.
    AJS
    BIMM Consultant
    www.GHD.com

  7. #27
    Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Join Date
    2008-11
    Posts
    1
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Post-Tension Cable Idea for Revit! (wish)

    Post tension Cable in Revit is Possible but painful

    You can create cable family through adaptive points.

    I’m still working on a stable adaptive point family, when I do, I will post it for everyone to use
    Attached Files Attached Files

  8. #28
    Member
    Join Date
    2006-01
    Posts
    2
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Post-Tension Cable Idea for Revit! (wish)

    I have been working on making up a 2D Post-Tension Cable for a job i have coming up. Here is what i have made. The PT - Post Tension.rfa is the main file. It's the one will use to place your cable. I have 4 Family Types setup in it. It can be easily changed up to do what ever you need. PT - Force Tag.rfa is the tag that you need to call out the Force on that Cable. There are 2 types setup here. one for Kips Per FT and one for Total Kips. PT - Text is used to show the height of the cable. PT-text are just symbols you can place them were ever you need them. they work i just don't like that they are not tied to the PT Cable. The last object is called PT - Offset End. I made it up so if i need to work around an opening in the slab. It's still in Beta. It will get you around the opening but you are going to have to work for it. I'm hoping to think of a better way to do it later on.

    You will also need to add two Parameters to your Shared Parameters. One called FORCE for Discipline Structural and Type of Parameter Force. The other is FORCE PER FOOT for Discipline Structural and Type of Parameter Linear Force.

    I hope these Family's will help you all out. let me know if you have an idea that will make them better.
    Attached Files Attached Files

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Similar Threads

  1. RSA 2011 can do RC post tension design ?
    By tngv75955631 in forum Robot Structural Analysis
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2011-05-17, 05:32 AM
  2. New Logo idea for Revit MEP......
    By AyeCantSeeYou in forum Revit MEP - General
    Replies: 37
    Last Post: 2010-02-10, 03:11 AM
  3. Post Tension Details?
    By Chris.Partin in forum Dynamic Blocks - Technical
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2009-11-23, 12:46 PM
  4. Miscellaneous - Tension Cable / Tic Tac Toe
    By mark.62793 in forum Dynamic Blocks - Sharing
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2005-11-06, 03:07 AM
  5. Opinions on Revit .... moving from AutoCAD 2004 - revit a good idea?
    By cgill in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 2004-12-16, 08:30 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •