Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Revit Bug - Faceted Display of Curves in families

  1. #1
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2004-10
    Location
    Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    402


    Default Revit Bug - Faceted Display of Curves in families

    There is a serious bug with the way that Revit displays some curved elements within families, instead of a smooth curve, it is displayed faceted.

    A typical example is with a classical column family. I have drawn the profile of the column base in the family editor, with smooth curves, but when this is loaded into the project, it gets displayed as a series of straight lines. It also exports to AutoCAD this way.

    I can just about get away with this on general arrangement drawings, but on any large scale details it just looks ridiculous.

    Here is my workaround: Open the family, copy out the profile, export to AutoCAD, import into a Revit drafting view. This then looks ok, but takes forever to do.

    Is there a better solution?

    NB: I have submitted a support request to Autodesk about this
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by Andrew Dobson; 2008-09-23 at 01:16 PM.

  2. #2
    Revit Mararishi aaronrumple's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-02
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    4,695


    Default Re: Revit Bug - Faceted Display of Curves in families

    Not really. Revit displays al curved surfaces with a preset llevel of detail and faceting.

    You can use symbolic lines within the family in lieu of the 3D geometry - however this doesn't accomodate all the angles something like a round column can be viewed.

    You can save some time by not going to AutoCAD, but going directly to a drafted lines. Trace over the column base and then turn off the 3D column.
    Don't drink the Kool-Aid...
    Aaron Rumple, AIA

  3. #3
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2004-10
    Location
    Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    402


    Default Re: Revit Bug - Faceted Display of Curves in families

    Quote Originally Posted by aaronrumple View Post
    You can save some time by not going to AutoCAD, but going directly to a drafted lines. Trace over the column base and then turn off the 3D column.
    This doesnt always work for me, hence the AutoCAD step.

    This is apparently a "well documented issue that will be fixed in a future release of Revit" according to support.

    Guess it just irritates me more than most

Similar Threads

  1. Nurns Curves in revit !?
    By Jay North in forum Revit Structure - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2011-06-13, 11:25 PM
  2. Revit DOES NOT extrude curves !
    By carl.lowrey in forum Revit Structure - Wish List
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2009-06-17, 05:26 AM
  3. Illustrator curves into Revit????
    By Kenny Gee in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2009-01-23, 01:08 PM
  4. Limitations of Revit Families and Curves
    By pragati_khond in forum Revit Architecture - Families
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2007-06-07, 03:48 PM
  5. Did you know? You can create nurb curves in Revit.
    By robmorfin in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 38
    Last Post: 2006-03-31, 04:25 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •