See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Dynamic North Arrow

  1. #1
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2007-12
    Posts
    212
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Dynamic North Arrow

    I know that there have been a lot of posts about creating a Dynamic North Arrow, but I can't seem to follow the process. I have created a north arrow with two visibility states (that part is easy); one is a block the firm rarely uses and just needs to be manually rotated, so no big deal there, while the other is the typical north arrow with the crosshair and N at the top. I want to be able to set this one up so that when I rotate the block the N remain upright. I know I need to perform a chain parameter (or action) but I just can't seem to get this to work. I have attached the block.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Certifiable AUGI Addict dzatto's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-12
    Location
    Big "D"
    Posts
    3,711
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Dynamic North Arrow

    Welcome to AUGI and congrats on your first post

    Check out the Dynamic Blocks forum. It's where the autocad forums are (not the Architecure forums).

    This thread is about the same problem (I think). Check it out and see if it works for ya.

    http://forums.augi.com/showthread.php?t=87668

    I messed around with it (I need to get back to creating DB's anyway). I think I have it working how you want it. Check it out and let me know.

    OH yeah, one more thing. I left a grip on the "N", so you can move it where you need it (away from the circle). If you don't want that there, just go to the block editor, click on the point parameter, and in the properties box, set the grip number to 0.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by dzatto; 2008-09-24 at 10:29 PM.
    Why is it called common sense when it is so rare?

    RevitForum.org

  3. #3
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2007-12
    Posts
    212
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Talking Re: Dynamic North Arrow

    What you posted worked and actually helped me figure out another dynamic block issue. Thanks.

  4. #4
    1 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Dynamic North Arrow

    Attached is a north arrow that auto dimensions in increments of 5° (increments can be changed within the properties of the Rotation Parameter)
    Attached Files Attached Files

Similar Threads

  1. Dynamic North Arrow
    By Darren Allen in forum Dynamic Blocks - Sharing
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2011-10-03, 04:55 PM
  2. North Arrow Alined with True North
    By JH75 in forum Revit Structure - Families
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2010-04-01, 05:54 AM
  3. project north and true north arrow symbol
    By Justin Marchiel in forum Revit Architecture - Families
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2006-03-21, 07:49 PM
  4. project north and true north arrow symbol
    By Justin Marchiel in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2006-03-21, 01:05 AM
  5. Project north/True north arrow
    By jwilhelm in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2006-02-28, 02:26 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •