Thread: Linking Revit Architecture file with Revit Structural File

Login to Give a bone

Default Linking Revit Architecture file with Revit Structural File

I'm trying to link a Revit Architecture 2009 file to Revit Structural 2009. The arch file has the building in its completed form, I'm starting the structural file from scratch. I tried following Autodesk PDF on Coordination between Revit Structure and Revit Architecture. When I link the model to my Structural file, I only get to see the model in 3D view. I don't see it in plan or any other view. I can't seem to edit the beams, columns etc...am I even allowed to do this.

What am I missing? Could anyone help me out? I need some easy to follow instructions, I'm very new to this Linking Revit models.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

AUGI Addict
    Login to Give a bone

Default Re: Linking Revit Architecture file with Revit Structural File

Are these two models sharing coordinates? Or did you linked the architectural by using what: center to center, origin to origin, shared coordinates? Maybe your linked file is not placed at the same spot as the structural (maybe too high) and therefore you can't see it in plan (only in 3D because that view shows a bigger scope).

Also, make sure that your plan views have their discipline set to coordination. If it is set to structural, you can't see architectural elements. To set it to coordination, go to the view properties and change "Discipline".

Andre Carvalho

Login to Give a bone

Smile Re: Linking Revit Architecture file with Revit Structural File

The structural model is starting from scratch so I just used the Origin to Origin setting when linking the file.

Could it be settings in the file the Arch sent me? Should I put all their elements on Coordination? What happens when I have to update the model?

As you can tell I'm completely new to this part of Revit...along with a lot of other parts as well.

AUGI Addict
    Login to Give a bone