Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: exporting revit file into sketchup

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2008-10
    Posts
    4
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default exporting revit file into sketchup

    hey there everybody.first time on here.i just have a question.i'm trying to do a google earth visualization for a project im doing.how do i get a revit file into sketchup.i tried exporting as a 3ds file,but revit didnt have that format.What do i do.One more thing,with the file i am exporting,will i be able to keep the material properties?
    thanks guys

  2. #2
    I could stop if I wanted to Norton_cad's Avatar
    Join Date
    2007-05
    Location
    Bardwell Valley, Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    487
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: exporting revit file into sketchup

    Export a DWG format. Sketckup understands DWG files okay.
    I think your materials settings will be lost, as Sketchup dosn't understand other materials.
    I think a material translation needs to be added to the Sketchup import/export command.
    Ohm's Law - Electricity follows the path of least resistance.

    Regards,

    Mark Norton,

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2008-10
    Posts
    4
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: exporting revit file into sketchup

    how about the 3d model from revit to sketchup,thats where the problem is

  4. #4
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2003-11
    Posts
    441
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: exporting revit file into sketchup

    You have to be in a 3D view in Revit when you export to dwg. Materials will not transfer to SketchUp.

  5. #5
    Revit Technical Specialist - Autodesk Scott Davis's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-04
    Location
    Chino, CA
    Posts
    4,751
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: exporting revit file into sketchup

    If you want to go Revit to Google Earth, why don't you use the Revit Google Earth Extension which will not only export your model to a Sketchup format, but it will place it in the correct site and orientation in Google Earth.
    Scott D Davis
    AEC Technical Specialist
    Autodesk, Inc.

    http://about.me/scottddavis

  6. #6
    Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Join Date
    2006-04
    Posts
    1
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: exporting revit file into sketchup

    Scott- I don't understand where the Export to Google Earth option is in Revit.
    Can you please advise.
    We have both Revit 2009 and 2010.
    thank you for any help.
    Jim

  7. #7
    Revit Technical Specialist - Autodesk Scott Davis's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-04
    Location
    Chino, CA
    Posts
    4,751
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: exporting revit file into sketchup

    This is a plug-in for Revit that you must download and install from the Subscription Center. Log into Subscripton Center (www.autodesk.com/subscription), and look for the:

    Globe Link for Autodesk Revit 2010
    or
    Globe Link for Revit 2009
    Scott D Davis
    AEC Technical Specialist
    Autodesk, Inc.

    http://about.me/scottddavis

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Posts
    4
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: exporting revit file into sketchup

    Hello and thanks in advance for any advice.
    I've installed Globe Link and while exporting to a kmz file everything appears to go fine on the Revit end of things. However, if I open Sketchup and attempt to import, I come up empty handed. Sketchup takes some time and behaves as if it was importing something but at the end of the process nothing has happened. I'm using 2010 on a 32-bit XP.

  9. #9
    Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Join Date
    2008-07
    Posts
    1
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: exporting revit file into sketchup

    Here is one way to pull your Revit model into Sketchup:
    1. While in a 3D view turn the "Section Box" on (found in view properties) and compress the section box to just the area you want to study in Sketchup. This may be the whole model or just a piece (an entry alcove, one exterior elevation, etc). Depending on the speed of your computer and the size of your Revit model, you may want to narrow the scope of the exported model in order to decrease file size.
    2. File - Export - CAD formats. In the "Export Options", under "Solids" choose "Export as ACIS solids". This will export Revit objects/elements as components so that they don't get too sticky when working in Sketchup.
    3. Once your export is saved, open Sketchup and "import" the dwg. The file will import with DWG layers as Sketchup layers, separating your glazing from your doors, etc.
    4. Change your layer setting in Sketchup to "color by layer". This gives you universal control over the color/material of all of your glazing, doors, etc. Change the color/transparency of each layer to your liking.

    This isn't a perfect process but I find it works well to take advantage of the more design-friendly interface of Sketchup and to produce quick color images for clients.

  10. #10
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2007-09
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    66
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: exporting revit file into sketchup

    Quote Originally Posted by chris.74844 View Post
    Hello and thanks in advance for any advice.
    I've installed Globe Link and while exporting to a kmz file everything appears to go fine on the Revit end of things. However, if I open Sketchup and attempt to import, I come up empty handed. Sketchup takes some time and behaves as if it was importing something but at the end of the process nothing has happened. I'm using 2010 on a 32-bit XP.
    I had the same issue with Export to Google Earth, but haven't had the time to play with it more. Any help on this front would be greatly appreciated.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Exporting to CAD from Revit (Preset .txt file to load? ctb file?)
    By goodtastingsteak in forum Revit - Plotting/Printing/Exporting
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2010-11-22, 11:59 PM
  2. Link a Sketchup file (via dwg) to Revit
    By dc.109967 in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 2009-02-09, 02:36 PM
  3. exporting revit files into sketchup
    By dac-sektion in forum Revit - Platform
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2008-10-29, 10:50 PM
  4. Exporting to SketchUp...best practices?
    By FWSchreck in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2008-04-10, 12:23 AM
  5. Exporting sketchup to Max
    By depth3d in forum 3ds Max - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2007-10-30, 09:20 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •