Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Tough Question - Reconcile Layer Feature

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2008-10
    Posts
    34
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Tough Question - Reconcile Layer Feature

    AutoCAD 2008

    2.) Reconciled Layer feature, completely annoying! I have read numerous articles saying
    that AutoCAD has made this feature drawing specific as opposed to an overall setting. What this means is that every drawing you edit layers in a xref, you get pop ups stating that layers have changed. Especially annoying when you are publishing a set of drawings. Does anyone know of an overall command to turn this nonsense off completely? Or a command that will reconsile the layers automatically without the pop up message?


    I thank everyone for taking the time to read my questions, and putting the effort to
    possibly answering them.

  2. #2
    Administrator RobertB's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-08
    Location
    Dallas TX USA
    Posts
    5,846
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Tough Question - Reconcile Layer Feature

    Layer reconciling, and how to turn it off, is documented in the help files.
    R. Robert Bell
    Design Technology Manager
    S P A R L I N G
    Opinions expressed are mine alone and do not reflect the views of Sparling.

  3. #3
    Administrator Opie's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    jUSt Here (a lot)
    Posts
    7,427
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Tough Question - Reconcile Layer Feature

    It's also been asked a few times and answered at least once.
    If you have a technical question, please find the appropriate forum and ask it there.
    You will get a quicker response from your fellow AUGI members than if you sent it to me via a PM or email.
    jUSt

  4. #4
    AUGI Addict jpaulsen's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-04
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    1,952
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Tough Question - Reconcile Layer Feature

    What problems have you had with this while publishing?

    I and many at work actually like this feature because we don't get unwanted new layers displaying in our drawings. The only problem we have with publishing is the fact that you don't see the warning so new layers might display when the drawings are published.
    Jeff Paulsen

  5. #5
    Administrator RobertB's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-08
    Location
    Dallas TX USA
    Posts
    5,846
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Tough Question - Reconcile Layer Feature

    Quote Originally Posted by jpaulsen View Post
    What problems have you had with this while publishing?

    I and many at work actually like this feature because we don't get unwanted new layers displaying in our drawings. The only problem we have with publishing is the fact that you don't see the warning so new layers might display when the drawings are published.
    For us, we were getting overwhelmed by notifications, drawing after drawing, when updating the architect's backgrounds. When we are opening 100's of drawings for a project, it gets tedious very quickly.
    R. Robert Bell
    Design Technology Manager
    S P A R L I N G
    Opinions expressed are mine alone and do not reflect the views of Sparling.

  6. #6
    AUGI Addict jpaulsen's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-04
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    1,952
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Tough Question - Reconcile Layer Feature

    But you do you see those notifications while publishing?
    Jeff Paulsen

  7. #7
    Administrator RobertB's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-08
    Location
    Dallas TX USA
    Posts
    5,846
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Tough Question - Reconcile Layer Feature

    Quote Originally Posted by jpaulsen View Post
    But you do you see those notifications while publishing?
    It doesn't matter for publish or not... the notifications in the day-to-day work were killing us.
    R. Robert Bell
    Design Technology Manager
    S P A R L I N G
    Opinions expressed are mine alone and do not reflect the views of Sparling.

  8. #8
    ATP Manager CADKitty's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    The Dragon's Lair
    Posts
    730
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Tough Question - Reconcile Layer Feature

    Quote Originally Posted by jpaulsen View Post
    But you do you see those notifications while publishing?
    We did, which is why we finally had IT turn them off/auto-reconcile them. What killed us was the problems we had while publishing - if they layers weren't reconciled the publish bombed.
    I drink coffee for your protection.

  9. #9
    AUGI Addict jpaulsen's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-04
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    1,952
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Tough Question - Reconcile Layer Feature

    Quote Originally Posted by CADKitty View Post
    We did, which is why we finally had IT turn them off/auto-reconcile them. What killed us was the problems we had while publishing - if they layers weren't reconciled the publish bombed.
    Strange. We use sheet sets and likewise use publish several times a day. Company wide I bet we do 20 publish jobs a day and have never seen the notification while publishing.
    Jeff Paulsen

  10. #10
    Administrator RobertB's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-08
    Location
    Dallas TX USA
    Posts
    5,846
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Tough Question - Reconcile Layer Feature

    Quote Originally Posted by jpaulsen View Post
    Strange. We use sheet sets and likewise use publish several times a day. Company wide I bet we do 20 publish jobs a day and have never seen the notification while publishing.
    What is LayerNotify set to, however? I'm betting that bit code 1 is off.
    R. Robert Bell
    Design Technology Manager
    S P A R L I N G
    Opinions expressed are mine alone and do not reflect the views of Sparling.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Layer States / Reconcile
    By shess.232258 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2011-10-27, 07:04 PM
  2. Tough Question - Layer Locking (Make Layer Visible But No Pick)
    By johnshar123xx in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2008-11-27, 05:36 AM
  3. Tough Question - Bind Image
    By johnshar123xx in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 2008-11-06, 06:11 PM
  4. Tough Question - Raster Images
    By johnshar123xx in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2008-10-17, 05:08 PM
  5. Tough visiblity / shading question
    By erikbjur in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2006-06-22, 06:00 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •