Thread: Best choice for house design

Login to Give a bone

Default Best choice for house design

Hi all...

Which would be better for house and residential related building design? AutoCAD Architechture or Revit? I'm a GC and looking for the software that best fits my needs. I have some 3D modeling experience in Rhino and I've had my hands on earlier versions of vanilla AutoCAD, so I'm not computer illiterate, but ease of use would still be a factor in the decision.

Also, are ACA and Revit stand alone? I've seen some posts which lead me to believe that AutoCAD is still required. Is that because ACA and Revit are extensions to AutoCAD or is that some just prefer creating finer details in AutoCAD?

Thanks for any suggestions.

Ross

Login to Give a bone

Default Re: Best choice for house design

Quote Originally Posted by richard.carlisle View Post
    Hi all...

Which would be better for house and residential related building design? AutoCAD Architechture or Revit? I'm a GC and looking for the software that best fits my needs. I have some 3D modeling experience in Rhino and I've had my hands on earlier versions of vanilla AutoCAD, so I'm not computer illiterate, but ease of use would still be a factor in the decision.

Also, are ACA and Revit stand alone? I've seen some posts which lead me to believe that AutoCAD is still required. Is that because ACA and Revit are extensions to AutoCAD or is that some just prefer creating finer details in AutoCAD?

Thanks for any suggestions.

Ross
    Welcome to AUGI and congrats on your first post

You've hit on the age old question; which is better Revit or ACA. The main difference is that Revit is full BIM. Everything is linked and drawn in one file. So if you wanted to change a window height, you could change it on the schedule and it would change in your model, which would change your sections and elevations, etc.