Search the Community

Ask, Learn and Solve

The AUGI forums are an online community where AUGI members
can discuss what they use everyday,
Autodesk Design Software!

Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Revit Temp File


  • Thread Tools
  • Display
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2006-10
    Posts
    9


    Default Revit Temp File

    We're having performance issues with Revit due to the large temp file it creates. When the file reaches a certain size, people with less hard drive space can't save. I've read through the other posts that I could find, and know that Revit should be closed occasionally to clean out the temp file, but I was wondering if there was a way to get the temp file to save to another drive. Our computers are partitioned with a smaller C drive and a larger D drive. By default it saves the temp file to the C drive, is there a way to repath this?

    Thanks,
    Brian

  2. #2
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2004-01
    Location
    Columbus OH
    Posts
    465


    Default Re: Revit Temp File

    Just put your local file on your D:\ drive since it has the larger partition size? No matter how often you shutdown Revit the backup file will always be roughly the same size as the actual local file.

  3. #3
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2006-10
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    133


    Default Re: Revit Temp File

    I've heard it's more of an issue with a filesize limit windows has on individual folders, because we have had the same errors here with 50gig free on our C: drives.
    It's still a good idea to get the revit temp files out of the windows temp files. To do that right-click on the my computer icon and go to properties. Under the advanced tab go to environment variables. Crearte a new folder somewhere on your D drive or wherever you want it to be (revit_temp for example) and then repath the TMP variable to that folder. Next time you start revit you should see that folder populate.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    2012-03
    Posts
    2


    Cool Re: Revit Temp File

    Has the problem with the temp files on C been resolved. All of the message are in 2008 and 2007. I was not having the problem on 2010 Revit only on Revit 2012.

    I don't know how to change the files to D.

    Judy

  • Thread Tools

Similar Threads

  1. How to open Revit temp file?
    By M_Pingitore179684 in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2011-04-06, 07:58 PM
  2. Temp Dims on Revit's 2d toilet
    By 3dway in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2010-07-13, 08:07 PM
  3. Revit files self-delete from C:\Temp
    By iamthecalvin in forum Revit - Platform
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2009-08-07, 10:56 PM
  4. Can't save! Not enough space for temp file?
    By Andre Baros in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2008-08-15, 09:33 PM
  5. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2006-07-14, 07:19 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •