Thread: Organize Block Library

100 Club
    Login to Give a bone

Question Organize Block Library

I am new to organizing an office wide block library and I was wondering what would be a good way to go about it. We are working on adding blocks, tags, objects, etc to the library but I have no idea where to start to hav it well organized. Like for example all drawing tags and labels go in one folder, dynamic blocks go in another, objects such as masonry ties, chairs, etc go in it's own.
    How have some of you set yours up?

Login to Give a bone

Default Re: Organize Block Library

First "Good Luck"

Best advice is keep it as simple as possible.
    Write it out on paper using a directory tree.

I have ours set up as CAD LIBRARY and inside I have several folders. Within each folder is a drawing that contains the blocks. An example is we have a drawing for 150# flanges that has every size of flange, blind in there of that particular type and we have a simlar one for 300# flanges etc.

Good luck Just remember the KISS rule.

100 Club
    Login to Give a bone

I have mine organized by function. Instead of having dynamic blocks of varying functional groups in different folders, I put them with their non-dynamic counterparts.

I have things like "Construction_Wood' in which I have my building blocks for creating parts from wood. 'Symbols' is another. 'Notes'. You get the idea.

This way, I can use design center to create palettes from the blocks, and their palette groups are named appropriately. Also, each block in that folder has the same code at the beginning. 'Sym_Centerline' or 'Sym_Slope'. This isn't really very useful to me, but it helps to be consistent.

100 Club
    Login to Give a bone

Okay, I see what you're saying and yea, the simpler the better. Mainly it has to be understood by others and not just me.
    So far I am trying to divide everything up by function.