See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26

Thread: Autosave Auto gone

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2006-10
    Posts
    12
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Autosave Auto gone

    I'm using AutoCAD 2008 and periodically my autosave will reset itself by unchecking and setting the time interval to 0. I check every now and then for this to happen but am caught out occasionally when I need to recover a dwg when the software locks up or crashs. Anybody have any ideas? I'm an a managed network and some other users sometime find the autosave setting disabled also, but it does not seem to be network wide when it does occur.

  2. #2
    AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2005-07
    Posts
    2,356
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Autosave Auto gone

    Quote Originally Posted by gtepe.123006 View Post
    I'm using AutoCAD 2008 and periodically my autosave will reset itself by unchecking and setting the time interval to 0. I check every now and then for this to happen but am caught out occasionally when I need to recover a dwg when the software locks up or crashs. Anybody have any ideas? I'm an a managed network and some other users sometime find the autosave setting disabled also, but it does not seem to be network wide when it does occur.
    Do you have any lisps running or in the start up suite which change the setting? Also any 3rd party software which may be interfering with it?

  3. #3
    Wish List Manager BrenBren's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    150700
    Posts
    3,439
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Autosave Auto gone

    Quote Originally Posted by gtepe.123006 View Post
    I'm using AutoCAD 2008 and periodically my autosave will reset itself by unchecking and setting the time interval to 0. I check every now and then for this to happen but am caught out occasionally when I need to recover a dwg when the software locks up or crashs. Anybody have any ideas? I'm an a managed network and some other users sometime find the autosave setting disabled also, but it does not seem to be network wide when it does occur.
    You can add the following code to your acaddoc.lsp. It will pop up an alert when you autosave time is changed, and automatically reset it to 5 minutes (you can change that).

    I know publish will turn off the Autosave, and if it crashes, or is cancelled in the middle, it won't turn it back on.

    Code:
    (defun VTF (CALL CALLBACK)
      (if (= (strcase (car CALLBACK)) "SAVETIME")
        (progn
          (setq ALK (getvar "savetime"))
          (if (/= ALK 5)
        (progn
            (alert "Savetime has been changed, Resetting to 5 minutes! ")
              (setvar "savetime" 5)
          )
        )
          )
      )
    )

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    2006-10
    Posts
    12
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Autosave Auto gone

    I don't have any 3rd party software running inside AutoCAD, but we have a custom palette - actually 5, with content that may use lisp routines. It is very intermitent that autosave resets it's self, so you think maybe it's being initiated through on item on our custom palette?

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    2006-10
    Posts
    12
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Autosave Auto gone

    Brenda,

    I appreciate your response. I was able to locate other threads on this subject, yours included. I have made the lisp file and used it already. In fact the publish routine does have an affect on the autosave setting while it works. I hope this lisp routine may find other causes for the resetting. Thanks.

  6. #6
    Wish List Manager BrenBren's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    150700
    Posts
    3,439
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Autosave Auto gone

    Quote Originally Posted by gtepe.123006 View Post
    Brenda,

    I appreciate your response. I was able to locate other threads on this subject, yours included. I have made the lisp file and used it already. In fact the publish routine does have an affect on the autosave setting while it works. I hope this lisp routine may find other causes for the resetting. Thanks.
    No problem. I didn't write it, I don't take credit for it, but it works like a charm

  7. #7
    Administrator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,803
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Autosave Auto gone

    Quote Originally Posted by BrenBren View Post
    I didn't write it, I don't take credit for it, but it works like a charm

    I'm crediting Peter Jamtgaard for it
    , I believe this to be correct.
    Last edited by rkmcswain; 2009-01-07 at 12:50 PM. Reason: update URL
    R.K. McSwain | CAD Panacea |

  8. #8
    Wish List Manager BrenBren's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    150700
    Posts
    3,439
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Autosave Auto gone

    Quote Originally Posted by rkmcswain View Post

    I'm crediting Peter Jamtgaard for it
    , I believe this to be correct.
    Thanks. I believe I got it from you, but I wasn't sure who it originally came from. Whoever it was, it's works like a charm

  9. #9
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2007-06
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    79
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Autosave Auto gone

    A work-around for the LT-ers out there would be to add a macro to file>exit or some other infrequent, but daily used button or menu item. I've had the same problem with Autosave. I think mine is caused by publish freezing.

    The other similar thing, and maybe it happens along with the autosave issue, is that I occasionally open up the options > display TAB and it forces me to enter a value for the arc and circle smoothness which is mysteriously empty. This may be a known bug to everyone but I haven't heard about a solution yet.

  10. #10
    Administrator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,803
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Autosave Auto gone

    Quote Originally Posted by steve.142152 View Post
    ...I think mine is caused by publish freezing.
    PUBLISH definitely turns autosave off. If it doesn't finish, it won't get turned back on.
    R.K. McSwain | CAD Panacea |

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Auto Backup or Autosave
    By nsinha73 in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 2016-09-06, 05:39 PM
  2. Auto loading a LSP but not auto running it
    By MTristram in forum AutoCAD Customization
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2012-10-05, 04:16 AM
  3. autosave
    By jcanter107 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2005-03-21, 01:46 PM
  4. autosave.bak
    By sinclair in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2004-09-07, 03:52 PM
  5. Autosave Q....
    By CCR in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2004-08-05, 05:06 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •