Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: How do you load a ARX file?

  1. #1
    Active Member zorroxxxx's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-12
    Posts
    90
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Question How do you load a ARX file?

    I was searching the web for LISP files and came across an interesting ARX file which draws 3D Bolts. I have never heard of a ARX file extension.

    What are they?
    Are they somewhat like Diesel or Scripting files?
    Can some one tell me how to load one of these files?

    Thanks in advance!!!

    Gary

  2. #2
    AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2001-10
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    2,337
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: How do you load a ARX file?

    Type APPLOAD and then browse to the location of
    that ARX application.
    Be your Best,


    Michael Farrell


    www.primeservicesglobal.com

  3. #3
    Administrator RobertB's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-08
    Location
    Dallas TX USA
    Posts
    5,844
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: How do you load a ARX file?

    Quote Originally Posted by zorroxxxx
    … I have never heard of a ARX file extension.
    What are they?
    Are they somewhat like Diesel or Scripting files?
    Gary, they are programs written in C++ and compiled using the ObjectARX SDK. The advantage to them is that AutoCAD considers them to be extensions of itself (think speed and access to the guts of AutoCAD).

  4. #4
    Wish List Manager BrenBren's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    150700
    Posts
    3,424
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: How do you load a ARX file?

    You can also load .arx files the same way you load .lsp files, through the load/unload applications dialog. Type appload at the prompt and follow the dialog box. You can also add it to the start-up suite so it loads everytime. I think this is the simplest way to do it, although there are other (better??) ways to do this

  5. #5
    I could stop if I wanted to LanceMcHatton's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-04
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV, USA
    Posts
    291
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: How do you load a ARX file?

    Is there a way to load .arx files from the command line?
    Lance McHatton

    AutoCAD 2014
    Windows 7
    I swear, I did not dado that rabbet.

  6. #6
    Administrator Mike.Perry's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-03
    Posts
    13,505
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: How do you load a ARX file?

    Hi

    Use the _.ARX command ie.

    Command: _.ARX
    Enter an option [?/Load/Unload/Commands/Options]: _L (setting system variable FileDia = 0 will force command line entry, instead of "Select ARX/DBX File" dialog box opening)

    OR

    Look at the AutoLISP function "arxload"

    OR

    ...

    Have a good one, Mike

  7. #7
    I could stop if I wanted to LanceMcHatton's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-04
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV, USA
    Posts
    291
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: How do you load a ARX file?

    Quote Originally Posted by Mike.Perry
    Hi

    Use the _.ARX command ie.

    Command: _.ARX
    Enter an option [?/Load/Unload/Commands/Options]: _L (setting system variable FileDia = 0 will force command line entry, instead of "Select ARX/DBX File" dialog box opening)

    OR

    Look at the AutoLISP function "arxload"
    I just discovered the ARX command and entered that into my LISP file. However, since it's better to use LISP functions as opposed to commands, I will try out the ARXLOAD function.

    Here's my command code if anyone's interested:

    Code:
    (command "arx" "l" "C:\\progra~1\\LandDe~2\\Express\\dwglog.arx")
    Thanks, Mike!
    Lance McHatton

    AutoCAD 2014
    Windows 7
    I swear, I did not dado that rabbet.

  8. #8
    Active Member zorroxxxx's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-12
    Posts
    90
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Talking Re: How do you load a ARX file?

    Thanks to all that replied.

    I have it working. It was not what I was looking for, but at least I learned about the ARX file.

    Gary

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    2009-06
    Posts
    17
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: How do you load a ARX file?

    When I tried this in 2008, my command line echos:

    Command: (command "ARX" "L" "C:

    And I have to hit ESC to restore any operation. Apparently, it does not like the c:\path as far as I can tell.

  10. #10
    Certified AUGI Addict rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    7,945
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: How do you load a ARX file?

    Quote Originally Posted by caddcop View Post
    When I tried this in 2008, my command line echos:

    Command: (command "ARX" "L" "C:

    And I have to hit ESC to restore any operation. Apparently, it does not like the c:\path as far as I can tell.
    Either use double back slashes or a single forward slash.
    Code:
    
    (command "._ARX" "_L" "C:\\mypath\\myarx.arx")
    ;; --or--
    (command "._ARX" "_L" "C:/mypath/myarx.arx")
    

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Exporting to CAD from Revit (Preset .txt file to load? ctb file?)
    By goodtastingsteak in forum Revit - Plotting/Printing/Exporting
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2010-11-22, 11:59 PM
  2. arg. profile file won't load
    By Mac Demer in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2009-07-15, 08:15 PM
  3. How to Load a Linetype file?
    By BeKirra in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 2008-11-05, 09:36 PM
  4. trying to load AECUtilities.arx file
    By david_devoldere in forum ACA General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2007-08-01, 08:52 PM
  5. Profile file will not load
    By Mac Demer in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2006-07-11, 03:59 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •