Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Can I edit drawings in a batch?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2002-09
    Posts
    25
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Can I edit drawings in a batch?

    I have 300 drawings that I need to open and erase one specific object and then paste in the new objects at 0,0. I can do this by opening each drawing individually, but I was just wondering if there is a way to automate this repetitive task and have it done to all the drawings automatically so that I do not have to open all 300 drawings individualyl?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    All AUGI, all the time Capt. Computer Crasher's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-12
    Location
    South of North & East of West
    Posts
    786
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Can I edit drawings in a batch?

    not as a general AutoCAD function. A macro or script would have to be written for that specific task. If you do not have experience with macros then it would probably be quick to open all 300 drawing manually that learn macros then write one.

    Here is a link to the programming forum if you do want to learn about macros. They can be handy if you have a repeditive task you do a lot.

    http://forums.augi.com/forumdisplay.php?f=88

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2002-09
    Posts
    25
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Can I edit drawings in a batch?

    I was afraid of that.

    Unfortunately I do not have any experience with programming macros, scripts or lisp.

    Thanks

  4. #4
    Certified AUGI Addict jaberwok's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    0,0,0 The Origin
    Posts
    8,570
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Can I edit drawings in a batch?

    If the unwanted object is at the same location in each drawing a script should be fairly easy.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    2002-09
    Posts
    25
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Can I edit drawings in a batch?

    The object is in the same place. Is the script something that you could easily explain?

  6. #6
    Certified AUGI Addict jaberwok's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    0,0,0 The Origin
    Posts
    8,570
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Can I edit drawings in a batch?

    Code:
    zoom
    e
    erase
    1,1
    0,0
    
    
    
    -insert
    filename
    0,0
    1
    	
    0
    explode
    l
    close
    n
    Zoom extents to ensure your object is visible (not strictly necessary but some graphics cards might cause a problem without this).
    Erase - substitute two x,y values that will form a crossing window over your object(s) but nothing else - higher x-value in the first line.
    Insert (without a dialogue box) the file containing your incoming objects at 0,0 with 0 degrees rotation.
    Explode Last.
    Close file and confirm save.

    Note that the blank lines are important (except at the bottom of the code above) and there must be an [enter] at the end of the last line (the "n").
    Use Notepad to create the script file. Save it with the extension .scr - you must have already unchecked "Hide extensions for known file types" in Windows Explorer's or My_Computer's "\Tools\Folder Options\View".
    The new file name must not already exist as a block name in the working drawings.
    This assumes that the working drawings, the new file and the script file are all in the same directory.
    This will work on the one open file at a time. To fully automate it you could use a batch file but it's been too long since I did that so I'll leave that to someone else.
    Have fun.
    Last edited by jaberwok; 2009-02-05 at 09:00 AM. Reason: using "code" tags added blank lines at the end

  7. #7
    All AUGI, all the time SRBalliet's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-06
    Location
    Near Christiansburg, VA Looking for a closer job!
    Posts
    500
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Can I edit drawings in a batch?

    We aren't on 2009 yet, but those that are have a macro recorder available. Maybe that could make things a little easier.

  8. #8
    Certifiable AUGI Addict ccowgill's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-08
    Location
    Iron Station, NC
    Posts
    3,198
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Can I edit drawings in a batch?

    Quote Originally Posted by SRBalliet View Post
    We aren't on 2009 yet, but those that are have a macro recorder available. Maybe that could make things a little easier.
    the action recorder wont do you any good, it can only work on the current drawing, you would have to manually open each drawing, run the action recorder, save, open the next one. you definitely want a script to do this, as it can automatically open each drawing that requires the change.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    2002-09
    Posts
    25
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Can I edit drawings in a batch?

    Thanks Jaberwok. I will try it.

    If someone could explain to me how to run the script file on multiple drawings at once, that would be great.

    Thanks again

  10. #10
    AUGI Addict jpaulsen's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-04
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    2,020
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Can I edit drawings in a batch?

    You will need something like ScriptPro. Shaan Hurley has a post about it on his blog.

    http://autodesk.blogs.com/between_th...ad_new_sc.html

Similar Threads

  1. DE111-4: Batch Those Autodesk® Inventor™ Drawings
    By Autodesk University in forum Customization and Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2013-05-05, 01:43 PM
  2. 2011: Multiline Text Color Batch Edit
    By limartin in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2011-03-22, 04:10 PM
  3. batch text and hatch edit
    By sandeep_koodal in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2010-01-07, 03:48 PM
  4. Batch block edit / redefine
    By b.hunter in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 2007-07-20, 07:45 AM
  5. Routine to Batch Edit Blocks
    By CADdancer in forum VBA/COM Interop
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2006-09-19, 09:35 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •