Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Room loading with FFE: Workset or Link file

I could stop if I wanted to
    Login to Give a bone

Default Room loading with FFE: Workset or Link file

Hello,

I am new to worksets and trying to get my head around this for our requirements. Currently we are doing our room loading with furniture in Acad based on Revit exported G.A.s. Now we are thinking to do this in Revit for the next project. I am putting together a workflor for it. I need some help.

Is having Workset better for this instead of having a seperate file for furniture and copy/monitor Arch. shell model? I want to achieve room loaded elevations and room data sheets from Revit when we load rooms with furniture. What is the general practice for this type of workflow?

Thanks in anticipation of your help.

AUGI Addict
    Login to Give a bone

Default Re: Room loading with FFE: Workset or Link file

If you want everything in one file, then a separate workset, or worksets is the only real way to go. Especially since work sets are available for use in a view filter. Worksets are NOT available for use in filtering a schedule.

The other possiblity, is for the furniture to be in a separate model, linked into the main Revit model. You have a little less control over visibility this way, but interior designers, are not then in the main model, and cannot screw up itemsin the main model. You'll have to pick your poisen, based on your companies requirements.

Login to Give a bone

Scott, That is really helpful. You are always helful.
    Thanks very much.

I am quite inclined to link method but then how would you run multi-category schedule that shows room number,name, furniture,electricals etc. in one given room?
    Please see attached PDFs to understand it better. This is what we currently do in Acad and issue to the client. Can we do the similar thing in Revit using links?

Thank you very much for your help.
    Attached Files Attached Files

AUGI Addict