See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 40

Thread: LISP routine to overwrite layer descriptions...

  1. #21
    Certifiable AUGI Addict tedg's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    in the upper right corner
    Posts
    3,504
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: LISP routine to overwrite layer descriptions...

    Quote Originally Posted by BlackBox View Post
    Cheers, tedg; to demonstrate, here's a quick speed test creating 256 layers each, with undo marks of Command calls vs. LayerTable Object....
    Cheers
    You Sir....Rock!

  2. #22
    Administrator BlackBox's Avatar
    Join Date
    2009-11
    Posts
    5,714
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: LISP routine to overwrite layer descriptions...

    Quote Originally Posted by dortega4269 View Post
    Again, Thanks BB. I'll explore your recommendations further and see which is more feasible.
    In the context of 'at drawing open'... The former is going to be the simplest for you to implement & maintain by far, and happens to offer the best performance as well, generally speaking.

    If I always want 'these' layers to be included within any drawing (or any drawing located in this sub-folder, or that contains this in the file name), then only import from this, and that .CSV file... As compared to iterate all layers in this single, monolithic .CSV file that has each-and-every-single possible layer we could ever think to use, and only bring in those that match 'X".



    Separately, to offer user Command option, instead of reinventing the wheel here, go with something like Lee's Steal routine... Which in full disclosure can also be used as a sub-function, but has the added overhead of ObjectDBX, etc. which I'd personally not opt for at drawing open specifically. Great in-session drawing editing tool otherwise.

    Cheers
    "How we think determines what we do, and what we do determines what we get."

    Sincpac C3D ~ Autodesk Exchange Apps

    Computer Specs:
    Dell Precision 3660, Core i9-12900K 5.2GHz, 64GB DDR5 RAM, PCIe 4.0 M.2 SSD (RAID 0), 16GB NVIDIA RTX A4000

  3. #23
    Administrator BlackBox's Avatar
    Join Date
    2009-11
    Posts
    5,714
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: LISP routine to overwrite layer descriptions...

    Quote Originally Posted by tedg View Post
    You Sir....Rock!
    That is kind of you to say, my friend; I'm happy to help.

    Cheers
    "How we think determines what we do, and what we do determines what we get."

    Sincpac C3D ~ Autodesk Exchange Apps

    Computer Specs:
    Dell Precision 3660, Core i9-12900K 5.2GHz, 64GB DDR5 RAM, PCIe 4.0 M.2 SSD (RAID 0), 16GB NVIDIA RTX A4000

  4. #24
    Member
    Join Date
    2014-07
    Posts
    8
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: LISP routine to overwrite layer descriptions...

    I'd be interested in a race BB.

  5. #25
    Administrator BlackBox's Avatar
    Join Date
    2009-11
    Posts
    5,714
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: LISP routine to overwrite layer descriptions...

    Quote Originally Posted by john.kaul677093 View Post
    I'd be interested in a race BB.
    Good to see you here, welcome to AUGI! (Shh, I won't tell)

    I'm intrigued; so what shall we race to do exactly?
    "How we think determines what we do, and what we do determines what we get."

    Sincpac C3D ~ Autodesk Exchange Apps

    Computer Specs:
    Dell Precision 3660, Core i9-12900K 5.2GHz, 64GB DDR5 RAM, PCIe 4.0 M.2 SSD (RAID 0), 16GB NVIDIA RTX A4000

  6. #26
    Member
    Join Date
    2014-07
    Posts
    8
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: LISP routine to overwrite layer descriptions...

    Quote Originally Posted by BlackBox View Post
    Good to see you here, welcome to AUGI! (Shh, I won't tell)

    I'm intrigued; so what shall we race to do exactly?
    Haha. Yeah don't get too excited; users here are mean and I have sensitive feelings [ :P ].

    Race to see who's routine(s) can create a bucket full of layers the quickest--I had a test (at the time I created mine) that contained 10,000 layers but that's long gone so we will have to create more tests-. I figure since mine uses a brick-ton of vanilla and yours looks like it's all VL we can race 'em and see which is faster (entmake vs VL-...).

  7. #27
    Member
    Join Date
    2014-07
    Posts
    8
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: LISP routine to overwrite layer descriptions...

    BTW, What's with this notice, every time I post, that my post won't be visible until it's approved by a mod? 0.o

  8. #28
    Administrator Ed Jobe's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    Turlock, CA
    Posts
    6,396
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: LISP routine to overwrite layer descriptions...

    Quote Originally Posted by john.kaul677093 View Post
    BTW, What's with this notice, every time I post, that my post won't be visible until it's approved by a mod? 0.o
    It sometimes happens with new users. Not sure why. Sorry.
    C:> ED WORKING....

  9. #29
    Member
    Join Date
    2014-07
    Posts
    8
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: LISP routine to overwrite layer descriptions...

    Quote Originally Posted by Ed Jobe View Post
    It sometimes happens with new users. Not sure why. Sorry.
    Hello Ed, Thanks for the reply. I used to use the screen name "Se7en" on many other forums/newsgroups BTW. Not sure we've met before but if we haven't; don't listen to what others may say about me.

  10. #30
    Administrator BlackBox's Avatar
    Join Date
    2009-11
    Posts
    5,714
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: LISP routine to overwrite layer descriptions...

    Quote Originally Posted by john.kaul677093 View Post
    Haha. Yeah don't get too excited; users here are mean and I have sensitive feelings [ :P ].
    HaHa - I'm not mean, I just happen to have a particularly dark sense of humor.



    Quote Originally Posted by john.kaul677093 View Post
    Race to see who's routine(s) can create a bucket full of layers the quickest--I had a test (at the time I created mine) that contained 10,000 layers but that's long gone so we will have to create more tests-. I figure since mine uses a brick-ton of vanilla and yours looks like it's all VL we can race 'em and see which is faster (entmake vs VL-...).
    I anxiously await your vanilla LISP offering, so long as it too supports undo functionality.

    Cheers
    "How we think determines what we do, and what we do determines what we get."

    Sincpac C3D ~ Autodesk Exchange Apps

    Computer Specs:
    Dell Precision 3660, Core i9-12900K 5.2GHz, 64GB DDR5 RAM, PCIe 4.0 M.2 SSD (RAID 0), 16GB NVIDIA RTX A4000

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Special Layer Freeze LISP Routine
    By dbanker in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 2017-08-11, 12:32 PM
  2. Layer Color Change LISP Routine
    By guardianfiredesign774457 in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 2013-08-28, 05:08 AM
  3. Add layer command line to a lisp routine
    By BrianTFC in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2012-02-02, 07:47 AM
  4. Layer creation lisp routine?
    By boeris9333 in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 2009-10-05, 11:24 AM
  5. Lisp routine help, Layer check problem
    By Craig.Baldie in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2007-10-12, 06:27 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •