Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: AutoCAD 2011 Help Partial Fix

  1. #1
    Certifiable AUGI Addict ccowgill's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-08
    Location
    Iron Station, NC
    Posts
    3,198
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default AutoCAD 2011 Help Partial Fix

    Ok, This works on my system, but that doesnt guarantee it will for everyone.
    First off I set up a reactor code that when a command is started, it stores the command name in a global variable. Then I set up a program that uses that variable to launch chm help to the command that is currently running. I also set up command ended and command cancelled reactors to reset the help variable to nil so that if no command is active, help defaults to the base page.
    the CHM has to be located locally for this to work.
    Reactor programs:
    Code:
    (if (not Command_Ending_Reactor)
      (setq    Command_Ending_Reactor
         (vlr-command-reactor
           nil
           '((:vlr-commandended
              .
              Command_Ended_Command
             )
            )
         ) ;_ end of vlr-command-reactor
      ) ;_ end of setq
      () ;_ the reactor is already loaded
    ) ;_ end of if
    (if (not Command_Starting_Reactor)
      (setq    Command_Starting_Reactor
         (vlr-command-reactor
           nil
           '((:vlr-commandwillstart
              .
              Command_Started_Command
             )
            )
         ) ;_ end of vlr-command-reactor
      ) ;_ end of setq
      () ;_ the reactor is already loaded
    ) ;_ end of if
    (if (not Command_Cancelling_Reactor)
      (setq    Command_Cancelling_Reactor
         (vlr-command-reactor
           nil
           '((:vlr-commandcancelled
              .
              Command_Cancelled_Command
             )
            )
         ) ;_ end of vlr-command-reactor
      ) ;_ end of setq
      () ;_ the reactor is already loaded
    ) ;_ end of if
    Callback Functions:
    Code:
    (defun Command_Ended_Command (In_ReactorName In_Command / )
    (setq helpcommand nil)
    ) ;_ end of defun
    (defun Command_Started_Command (In_ReactorName In_Command / )
    (setq helpcommand (car In_Command))
    ) ;_ end of defun
    (defun Command_Cancelled_Command (In_ReactorName In_Command / )
    (setq helpcommand nil)
    ) ;_ end of defun
    Launch Help Command:
    Code:
    (defun c:LaunchacadHelp (/ c1)
          (if (= Helpcommand nil)
        (setq c1 "")
        (setq c1 Helpcommand)
          ) ;_ end of if
          (help "C:\\AUTODESK\\HELP\\ACAD181.chm" c1); change path to location of actual chm file
        ) ;_ end of defun
    After these programs are loaded, one must create a custom command in their cui. I called mine CHM Help, and the macro is '_launchacadhelp
    Then I redefined the F1 keyboard shortcut to run CHM Help.
    Now, when I press F1, the chm help shows up. and for many commands, if I am in the command, the chm will jump right to the page I am working on. I'm still working on improving it so it works like the chm in 2010, if anyone else has any ideas on how to do so, I'm open to it.

  2. #2
    All AUGI, all the time Liamnacuac's Avatar
    Join Date
    2016-01
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    508
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: AutoCAD 2011 Help Partial Fix

    Is this CHM a modified version for your company, or do you not have internet access for the acad help files? To be honest, the only chm I'm familiar with are Revit's. I want to make our office CAD manual into one.

  3. #3
    Certifiable AUGI Addict ccowgill's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-08
    Location
    Iron Station, NC
    Posts
    3,198
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: AutoCAD 2011 Help Partial Fix

    Quote Originally Posted by Liamnacuac View Post
    Is this CHM a modified version for your company, or do you not have internet access for the acad help files? To be honest, the only chm I'm familiar with are Revit's. I want to make our office CAD manual into one.
    this is downloaded from Autodesk's website to replace the html help as it is sadly lacking. AutoCAD 2011 shipped with online help only, and the search and index features suck, as well as the response time. So Autodesk posted a fix, users can download the html help. My fix is just a way to allow it to actually respond when F1 is pressed instead of the browser window opening and the html help displaying.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2015-08-07, 03:55 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2015-08-07, 03:47 PM
  3. Where is AutoCAD 2011 in the AutoCAD Revit Structure Suite 2011 bundle?
    By Dariusz.Kwolek in forum AutoCAD Structural Detailing
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2010-04-26, 09:42 AM
  4. AutoCAD 2006 Partial Open not working
    By pmedina in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2007-03-22, 07:49 PM
  5. Partial Open & Load in AutoCAD 2007 LT
    By richard.kimball in forum AutoCAD LT - General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2006-11-10, 01:12 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •