See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Is there any way to create and edit palettes other than through the built-in interface?

Login to Give a bone

Default Is there any way to create and edit palettes other than through the built-in interface?

Hello All,

I'm not sure if this is the right thread, it's kind-of programming and customization. I have a question regarding the creation of tool palettes please. I looked through various threads but could not find something specific on this. (As before, please bear with me if I use the wrong terminology, I’m an architect and also our IT/CAD manager, have done a lot of customizing in AutoCAD with toolbars and menus, but am not an expert and I don’t know LISP). I will explain what I am trying to do:

I’m experimenting with tool palettes which may be useful but seem to have some major drawbacks as well. I have our system well-organized and our building files have three main groups of elements, new, existing and demolished. When I started with mns files years ago, I could write a block of code, say for inserting new elements, test and trouble shoot it, then, once it was all working, copy the entire block of code and, with minor editing, quickly create whole new sections of code for existing and demolished elements and so on.

I created many toolbars and menus to improve our CD production and minimize operator error (which I imported into the CUI) and they work well. Inserting blocks from my toolbars is very quick and efficient but it is very cumbersome for me to create icons for buttons and, when I have a lot of blocks, they are a pain to access on a long flyout. My menu pulldowns work well but are also a bit cumbersome in use when you have to move down through a few sub-levels to get to the block you want.