PDA

View Full Version : Searching for ADVICE from the pro's...

yaggey
2009-05-27, 11:34 PM
Can anyone please advise me on how to proceed?

I am embarking on a new career path at 50 yrs of age. I now want to pursue my passion for drafting & design, (primarily residential & commercial).

I am currently a HUGE fan of Revit, and although I have no formal training, I am pretty comfortable using this software. I have no previous autocad experience, yet everything I have read indicates Revit is the way of the future?

QUESTION: Am I correct in assuming I still need to do a 2 yr. course in Autocad to obtain my certification and diploma, in order to have the formal training required, to begin my new path in life?

I can easily see the beauty of Revit, and would eventually want to excel at using this program for everything I wish to do.

Thanks

Terry

sfaust
2009-05-28, 12:38 AM
I would just offer a couple thoughts for you to chew on when deciding what route to take. BIM is the way of the future, that is in little doubt at this point, and currently Revit is the leading BIM application and in all likelihood wil remain that way, so for the architectural industry Revit is the way of the future in my opinion.

With that in mind, a certification in AutoCAD and any AutoCAD knowledge would be of only minor assistance and may even be a hinderance in some cases if you are solely focusing on Revit and BIM. If you don't understand why, it's basically because BIM is a completely different process than traditional 2D production work & therefore Revit workflow bears little resemblance to AutoCAD.