PDA

View Full Version : wall types and avoiding odd dimensions

jwilhelm
2009-06-26, 07:22 PM
Just curious how people are dealing with dimensioning issues releated to wall types, for example if I make my gyp bd 3/4" instead of 5/8" I dont end up with dimension strings with 1/8" dimensions, however this seems to go against the Revit concept, how are people handeling this? is it best to use real world dimensions thoughout?

greg.mcdowell
2009-06-26, 08:32 PM
Don't change the thickness of the materials, move your walls. If you don't the contractor will do it for you. <grin>

jarosa
2009-06-26, 10:17 PM
Don't change the thickness of the materials, move your walls. If you don't the contractor will do it for you. <grin>

Well, being a contractor I'll tell you my framers will try to build it to your dimensions and when the dimensions don't add up, they're going say unkind things.
Model it to the 1/8". If you need them to adjust placement of an element either place a ± at the least critical dimension or leave that dimension out and the remainder of the elements in the dimension string will be where you want them.

John

dlpdi5b
2009-06-28, 01:09 AM
Dimension to the items that are present during that phase of construction. In other words, dimension to face of framing, don't dimension to something that won't be there for several weeks. the one exception is if you have a critical clearance, dimension it and note it as 'clear", or "finished" or face of ....

sthedens
2009-06-29, 02:21 PM
Dimension to the items that are present during that phase of construction. In other words, dimension to face of framing, don't dimension to something that won't be there for several weeks. the one exception is if you have a critical clearance, dimension it and note it as 'clear", or "finished" or face of ....

Amen!, dlister, Amen!

patricks
2009-06-29, 02:40 PM