PDA

View Full Version : Large Projects / Why is Revit so Slow?

jj mac
2009-08-21, 06:55 PM
First off I want to say regardless of the posts title, I love Revit. I have been using it for 4 years now and could never / would never move back to the CAD world - unless I decide to change careers...

With that out of the way, when working on large projects, why is Revit so slow???

What happens along the way in the course of a project, that makes things run so sluggish?

I have seen this happen is every office I work in, I have read countless posts about it, tried purging, auditing, deleting elements manually, fixing errors... everything.

Nothing changes.

There needs to be some guide lines that come from the top, that are tried tested and true, based on results from a real project from the factory. Autodesk marketing needs to stop wasting time on making money on the next release, and fix the issues that we are all struggling through, so that we will continue to use this software in the future. It is the best investment Autodesk can make with Revit. We need you guys work through the issues we are working through and experience this stuff first hand... If you have already done this - please show me the literature to prove it!!!

I will be the first to say that whatever the reason our models are running so slow is because of something that we did along the way to make it so, but we need to know what that thing is and how to avoid it!!! What are the best maintenance techniques besides the ones I have mentioned above!?

My main issue, is that for all of our projects we need to utilize grouping functionality. Some files need to have 50 - 75+ groups in them, just to make editing and managing the file as easy as possible. This should be easy for the software and computer to manage and process Especially with technology being the way it is now!!! Some of our files I can see the groups going wayyy above 75+ groups. But we have to wait for so long for things to change.