PDA

View Full Version : Why are Share Parameters So Selfish

stuntmonkee
2009-09-16, 06:52 PM
OK, I'm drowning in a bit of parameter paradox and thought, maybe if I write it down it will clear up. Then thought maybe I could turn it into a support group ;)

I'm perfectly clear on the whole shared parameter deal (at least I thought), but have recently been chasing my tail a little.

I'm new to this firm, so the difficult part has been trying to seperate what was done with intent, what was done with out knowing any better, and what was done correctly but different than what I would have done.

SO. . .on to the details.

I'm going to pertain this to doors.

1. Medium sized firm started in Revit a short time ago, and had several doors created for them.
2. Large projects, obviously required more doors than what they had available.
3. All the projects use links
4. The firm is just now getting into heavily scheduling the doors
5. Working with a contractor that is requesting additional information out of the model beyond the standard parameters.

This has dropped us into a situation where we have several shared parameter files. Some of those shared parameter files have the same parameter name and have been loaded into door families once from each parameter file. Some of the shared parameter files have been lost, some have never been used, and some just don't make sence. Then to top it off we have a plethera of project parameters.

Example:

By default, each door comes with a "Fire Rating", we all know that, but for some reason when those "several custom doors" were created, a shared parameter of DR Label was added to the family to display the same info. That was done either by request of the firm, or with the intent of being used differently. But where we stand now, they are they same.