PDA

View Full Version : Stair rail help!!

crl_arch
2009-09-28, 07:46 PM
I know this is probably a basic issue, but I can't find it anywhere else, so here's my question:

I want to show my stair handrails offset 1 1/2" from the wall. I've tried to edit stair and rail settings for offsets and it is just not working. I'm new to stairs, so I'm sure I'm missing something. How do I get the railings to be 1 1/2" clear from the edge of the stair?

Thanks!

cporter.207875
2009-09-28, 07:52 PM
I know this is probably a basic issue, but I can't find it anywhere else, so here's my question:

I want to show my stair handrails offset 1 1/2" from the wall. I've tried to edit stair and rail settings for offsets and it is just not working. I'm new to stairs, so I'm sure I'm missing something. How do I get the railings to be 1 1/2" clear from the edge of the stair?

Thanks!

If your rail offset is 0'-0" it will be centered over the inside edge of stringer/outside edge of tread. Negative offsets will push them away from the stair (toward wall). So measure the distance between your wall and edge of tread, do a little math, and you'll know what to set the offset so that your rail will be located at 1-1/2" clear from face of wall.

wmullett
2009-09-28, 07:53 PM
It all depends on how you define your railing.

When you set up your railing, you can give a value for where everything is in relation to your sketch line. Most users assume the default which puts the center of the profile on your sketch-line. Thus, you should move your sketch line accordingly. But you could also keep the sktechline against your wall and define the railing accordingly.

crl_arch
2009-09-28, 07:56 PM
Thansk . . just to avoid trying to find the right place, where do I set the offset for the rail? Is it under Baluster offset or under Edit Rail under Rail Structure. This is so confusing . . .

Thanks!

crl_arch
2009-09-28, 07:58 PM