PDA

View Full Version : Exporting to Cad issues

Joseph TVM
2009-09-30, 04:15 PM
Hi

I am a beginner in Revit and I am involved in works of As builts and space management. Currently we are using Autocad for this purpose. What I need is that while we create models in Revit and export it to cad the dimensions seem to be non assosciative. Can I get the dimensions as assosciative when exported to Cad. Is there any tool controlling that in Revit?
Also in case of columns I need to get the column covered up by the wall in Autocad. But when exporting from Revit it does not appear, only the column appears while placing structural columns and only covering comes out when placing architectural column. Is there any solution for this?
I ve shown it in the dwg attached along with. Please do consider this over...Expecting your valuable replies

Joseph Bejoy Babu

phyllisr
2009-10-06, 12:26 AM
...only the column appears while placing structural columns and only covering comes out when placing architectural column...

Unfortunately, I think you are out of luck with the dimensions. If you think about it, you can probably understand why. For example, if you dimension to centerlines for a wall in Revit, there is nothing in the CAD export with which to associate the dimension.

The column issue it probably a quick fix. I checked your CAD file but am uncertain what you want to see. The attached image is what I think you would like.

The two columns with the hand pointer are the same Revit architectural column. One joins the geometry to the wall and the other does not. The two columns with the arrow pointer are the same Revit structural column. Again, one is joined and the other is not. If you manually unjoin the geometry of the architectural columns in Revit, you will get an export that looks like the column in blue.