PDA

View Full Version : Using Reference Planes

davidthigpen
2009-10-11, 05:47 PM
I have been using Revit for several years now and I'm pretty comfortable with my modeling skills. Recently I have received files from others that are using lots of reference planes to construct their models. I rarely use them, only if I need a reference from view to view that isn't easily accessed from other views. Am I missing something in my use of Revit? It seems to me that these folks are using them as construction lines but I believe that the model elements should be referencing other elements when possible and most of the time that that is how I build my models, reference other elements? How are others modeling - construction planes a lot or only when necessary?

Scott D Davis
2009-10-12, 01:10 AM
I have been using Revit for several years now and I'm pretty comfortable with my modeling skills. Recently I have received files from others that are using lots of reference planes to construct their models. I rarely use them, only if I need a reference from view to view that isn't easily accessed from other views. Am I missing something in my use of Revit? It seems to me that these folks are using them as construction lines but I believe that the model elements should be referencing other elements when possible and most of the time that that is how I build my models, reference other elements? How are others modeling - construction planes a lot or only when necessary?