PDA

View Full Version : circular buildings and sections....

Martin P
2004-11-19, 09:32 AM
Ok simple question, I had hoped Revit 7.0 would have adressed this but hasn't as far as I can see - all I need to be able to do is snap to a section when I pick the move command, that is it!!

I have a building with a circular footprint. How do I cut a section that goes through the centre point?

Phil Palmer
2004-11-19, 09:44 AM
Martin,

What about placing a wall directly on the centrepoint and then is you use the elevation tool you can point to that wall face and that will create a section at that wall poistion ?

Martin P
2004-11-19, 10:23 AM
Its the same problem as the section tool unfortunately - I cant snap to it and place the cut line exactly where I need it. Its particularly annoying as I have been requesting a solution to this for a couple of years now, I have come across this problem every time I do anything with curves and arcs for walls :(

When I have a circular footprint (or in any situation really) I should be able to put a section precisely where I need it. at the moment It has to be "eyed" in - very poor .....

I wonder how more complex designs are done without the ability to place a section line accurately? I imagine it can be very critical in some complex designs to know exactly where your section is..

Phil Palmer
2004-11-19, 10:37 AM
Martin,

Can you place a gridline exactly on the centrepoint.
You copuld then use a 'framing' elevation
I think that cuts directly on the gridline

Martin P
2004-11-19, 10:46 AM
Framing elevation, is that new to 7.0? will have a look - thank you!!!

edit - How long has that been there??? Never noticed that "attach to grid" option before! thank you, thank you - I will post the building soon on the gallery, its just started today - round with conical roof....

Phil Palmer
2004-11-19, 10:52 AM
Its located in the structural design tab
They have been there for a long while - cant remember how long though ?

Mr Spot