PDA

View Full Version : Greying Out Beyond Cropped View?

shbrooks
2010-01-05, 03:39 PM
Hello,

I'm relatively new to Revit so please forgive me if this is very simple to do.

I'm looking to find a way that automatically greys out buildings in the background so that I don't have to go an manually change all the view settings. I thought there might be a way to do this with the cropped view such as greying out anything beyond a certain point?

Thanks,
Sam

stuntmonkee
2010-01-05, 04:41 PM
Bad news, no can do. Thats been on the wish lists for a very long time.

Best bet is to select the objects you want grayed out, right click, and then override graphics in view.

I have heard of people creating multiple elevations and stacking them, but that seems like a coordination nightmare to me.

I guess it just depends on how much you want to add/remove.

--------------------------------------------------

On a similar side note:

If you're new to Revit, one thing you need to start thinking about is how you can adjust methods to take better advantage of what the software has to offer.

One of the first things people fight is "I'm not going to let some software dictate how I do my drawings!", and thats fine, but you can't look at it that way, or you will be miserable.

We have been letting tools of the trade adjust how we do things our entire life, but for what ever reason, when it comes to software, we are far less tolerant.

Example : Elevations

In my firms we have started using elevations more as a vertical location tool, and less as a piece of art. I'n short, Revit (using line wieghts) is not the right tool for making elevations have the look of depth. It's cumbersome. You do have the option of turning on shadows, but some people don't like that, and I have noticed that clients see the shadows as a material change.