PDA

View Full Version : Curved Parametric Truss

funkman
2003-09-18, 07:07 AM
Sheeeesh, what have I gotten myself into?! Just when I think I am getting on top of this project, my big mouth opens and I "inadvertently" say to the client that I can create a curved truss that extends beyond the second floor building envelope (building approx 10m wide = 30 ft) and is fixed to the ground a level below. Then the buidler I was with said it wouldn't cost any extra over his original price. The Clients eyes went googled-eyed and he agreed that would look great!!!

Then the reality sets in. What did I just say??? I am only a beginner and wouldnt have the first clue to begin this. I have searched the forums but could not find anything - would anyone have a family that I may use? In such a hurry he said he needs the drawings updated for early next week.

Could anyone help?
Thanks muchly,

beegee
2003-09-18, 07:59 AM
Firstly, heres a link (www.rugi.org/tipsandtricks/RevitTutorial/index.htm) to an excellant chewt on creating parametric trusses from our old friends at RUGI.

And secondly, this link will take you to some of RUGI's timber trusses (www.rugi.org/cgi-bin/woodtrussesexch.pl). You can change them to steel of course. There's a bowsting there that may be useful.

funkman
2003-09-18, 08:07 AM
thanks beegee, I am not really confident in creating these type of families but will jump in and give it a go.

funkman
2003-09-18, 09:08 AM
ok, so I have tried to create the family in accordance with the "choot", please see attached. Problem is the truss web members are protruding beyond the chord, and when it is tested, it doesnt drag as per the example, Perhaps this is because of the curved nature of the truss and the radius dimension that i have constrained.

Also, do I have to create a new truss for different lengths, or is there are way to add or delete web members automatically if the overall length reduces or increases?

Any help?

gnl
2003-09-18, 11:00 AM