PDA

View Full Version : general slowness

ivan.239950
2010-01-20, 09:16 PM
I am running Revit 2010 on a nice new computer but simple tasks like placing a wall or editing the edge of a floor, take a few seconds to complete. I get the little hourglass spinner and everything. My model isn't particularly big either. I think I have about 50 walls and floors placed so far.

Here are my specs:
Intel i7extreme processor
12G ram
1G quadro pro graphics card
Windows 7 64
plenty of open hard-drive space

I'm new to Revit. Is this sluggishness normal? If not, any troubleshooting advice?
thanks,
Ivan

sbrown
2010-01-20, 09:30 PM
Do you have Direct 3d turned on. If not do so. Its under the R>options>Graphics. If you have dwg files linked into your project turn them off.

ivan.239950
2010-01-20, 10:00 PM
I have Direct3d on and have deleted all linked dwgs. Sluggishness persists. Hmmmm.

ckc.mike
2010-01-20, 10:31 PM
Turnoff the Direct3D hardware acceleration in Revit, that will solve the problem. The computer I use similar configuration to yours. I have done some research sometime ago. The main reason is Window 7 and Quadro card are using Direct3D 11, but Revit 2010 was built on Direct3D 10. So there might have compatible issue between two versions.

ivan.239950
2010-01-20, 10:56 PM
Well, that helps with the redrawing, which was a little strange with Direct3d on.
BUT, it didn't help with the speed of placing and changing objects in the drawing.

dhurtubise
2010-01-20, 11:08 PM
Network speed, computer specs and warning counts would be helpful.

ckc.mike
2010-01-20, 11:23 PM
Try this, that will help.

Close the Revit project model file and close the Revit Session.
Restart a new Revit Session, then open the project model file with Audit.

Hope that will improve a bit.

ivan.239950
2010-01-21, 01:07 AM
Network speed, computer specs and warning counts would be helpful.