PDA

View Full Version : Room Schedules and Finishes

Jun Austria
2010-01-26, 08:36 AM
This is my first time to go deeper with this. So please bear with me. :-)

I have a Room Schedule with "Name/Floor Finish/Wall Finish and Ceiling Finish" Schedule fields. We are indicating finishes by legend. I mean instead of "cement render floor finish" we indicate it as "c1". My question is, can I tie this back to a "List" of finishes?

phyllisr
2010-01-26, 09:27 AM
...can I tie this back to a "List" of finishes?
If I understand your question correctly, this might be possible with a Key Schedule. The attached screenshot shows how we use this for door schedules to populate Hardware Set information but the concept is the same.

In your case, the Key Name would be the designation (for example) for Floor Finish. You would enter C1 or CPT2 or other as the key and populate any other information like color or manufacturer or anything else you do not include in your specifications manual. In the actual Room Finish Schedule, you only see the Key Name referencing all the other detail information. You may enter all your possible keys in advance before you have the materials selected if you prefer.

If I misunderstood your question, let me know.

Jun Austria
2010-01-26, 11:09 AM
If I understand your question correctly, this might be possible with a Key Schedule. The attached screenshot shows how we use this for door schedules to populate Hardware Set information but the concept is the same.

In your case, the Key Name would be the designation (for example) for Floor Finish. You would enter C1 or CPT2 or other as the key and populate any other information like color or manufacturer or anything else you do not include in your specifications manual. In the actual Room Finish Schedule, you only see the Key Name referencing all the other detail information. You may enter all your possible keys in advance before you have the materials selected if you prefer.