PDA

View Full Version : Sinks, Countertops and Sink Holes

kmarquis
2010-02-25, 10:38 PM
The sink holes and sinks in Revit is a management nightmare..the counter gets longer and the sink hole moves, the sink doesn't line up perfectly with the hole...
How do people handle counters with sink holes? I'm proposing to my company that we eliminate sink holes all together and just use 2D lines but they're concerned about the "what if we need a 3D view" aspect. Just wanted some suggestions. Thanks.

cliff collins
2010-02-25, 10:41 PM
You have to use dimensions/parameters/ref. planes to make sure the sinks "move"
with the sink holes--i.e. make sure the family "flexes" properly when changing the "distance
from end" parameter for the sink and sink hole.

I have seen a family that flexed properly this way--and unfortunately many that did not,
as you are experiencing!

cheers......

kmarquis
2010-02-25, 10:47 PM
It sounds like you're nesting the sink into the counter family. I work in Healthcare and we have multipe types of sinks so what has been done in the past is a countertop family with a hole and the sink is placed in the hole in the project. Do you still have the same suggestion for this type of situation?

cliff collins
2010-02-25, 10:49 PM
Yes--nesting the sink is probably better. This will give you more confidence in controlling
their positions.

cheers.....

Scott Womack
2010-02-26, 12:06 PM
The other trick is to place/constrain a reference plane in the countertop family with a "strong" setting, in the center of the sing opening. Almost all plumbing fixtures have a center reference plane that defines theyr insertion point. After the countertop has a reference plane in the moddle of the opening, the sink can be locked to the plane in the countertop. Thus when the length of the countertop is change, and the "hole" moves, the sink will move also.

This permits different types/manufacturer's sinks to be used without haveing to nest them into the countertop family.