PDA

View Full Version : SIP construction / true views to roof planes

nicholas_baum
2004-12-07, 05:19 PM
Many of our residential designs are based on SIP (Structural Insulated Panel) construction. We also create our own cut drawings for the factory to use and produce walls and roofs for delivery to construction site (see attached). I am new to Revit and am investigating the possibility to use it for this purpose.

Revit does not seem to address this type of construction. My guess on the best way to create drawings for this situation is to use a copy of the elevations and draw detail lines over walls and window ROs then set the view properties to not display model. This works for the walls but not for the roof panels. I can not figure out how to get a true view of a roof panel so that it can be dimensioned for the factory. Sections give us views that are perpendicular to vertical elements and levels give us plan views -- is there a way to create views perpendicular to roof planes?

Also, any advise concerning SIP construction with Revit is appreciated.

Thanks,
Nick
---------
Chaleff & Rogers, Architects
Water Mill, NY 11976

for more info on SIPs see: http://www.sips.org/

Steve_Stafford
2004-12-07, 05:37 PM
...I can not figure out how to get a true view of a roof panel so that it can be dimensioned for the factory. Sections give us views that are perpendicular to vertical elements and levels give us plan views -- is there a way to create views perpendicular to roof planes?...Open the default 3D view, then choose VIEW>ORIENT BY PLANE then choose the PICK PLANE option. Pick a roof face and the view will be changed to the orientation of the roof face you pick.

Now choose VIEW>DYNAMICALLY MODIFY VIEW then click the little save icon on the dialog box that loads in the bottom left corner of your screen to save the view and name it accordingly.

nicholas_baum
2004-12-07, 05:54 PM
Steve,