PDA

View Full Version : Revit to NON-Revit consultants.... recommendations?

mmonty1269
2010-04-22, 01:36 PM
What is the best way to handle (export) Revit files when I need to send "cad" files to my consultants. - I cant help it if they arent up-to-speed yet. I've been working with them for MANY years, and while they are not yet onto the Revit platform, I still need to work with them! LOL!

STHRevit
2010-04-22, 01:45 PM
I hear your pain. It is a daily issue with us as well.

It really depends on how much effort you want to put into it. You can create an export file that will place your exported elements on your office protocol. This can be quite time consuming, or you can simply export your model, sheets or views to dwg format and let the consultant deal with the unique layer names.

It is really a very simple process.

cliff collins
2010-04-22, 01:47 PM
In the past, we just exported to Autocad, using the default AIA layer standard,
and sent to our outside consultants. Never had any complaints or issues.

Fortunately for us, most of our consultants are all using Revit now. ( which brings along some more challenges........)

cheers

jessica.146534
2010-04-22, 02:23 PM
We've always just exported to ACAD using the default object styles too, with no complaints. The consultants we typically use end up graying-out anything we draw so they can put their info (ie. mechanical) in black so they don't care what layers everything ends up on.

mmonty1269
2010-04-22, 04:17 PM
They're screaming ..."There are a bazillion lines that make up the walls and when we update our drawing, we have aaaaaalll these lines to deal with....."

Maybe change all the wall types to "generic" prior to exporting? - more work for me, but I dont wanna hear 'em complain....

BTW - They are planning on Revit, they're just figuring out when they're gonna have time for training seminars. ;)

bearden383
2010-04-22, 04:17 PM