PDA

View Full Version : Temporal analysis for seismic simulation in RSAP2010

limd
2010-04-23, 06:35 AM
Hi,

I am studying a steel pier subject to an axial force and I have to carry out some dynamic analysis. So, I have done a modal analysis and then, a seismic analysis under the eurocode 8.

But I was asked to analyze the behavior of the pier under an existing earthquake. I have the data of the earthquake, i.e., the acceleration depends on the time.

So, I wanted to know if there is a way to put those data into RSAP2010. I tried a temporal analysis by considering an imposed acceleration. But, I don't really understand what is the purpose of the function "F(T)" in the :/temporal analysis/definition of the function... Is it a coefficient for the seismic load ? Like if I have my seismic load equal to 1m/s2 and I put F(T)=5; the seismic load will be 5m/s2 ?

If you need any precision, feel free to ask.

Thanks.

PS: Sorry for my english if it's not very clear.

waldemar.okapa
2010-04-23, 09:40 AM
Time function F(t) descibes simply change in time of the loads applied to the temporal analysis case. You will get results at each of the time step.
For the seismic analysis better use spectral analysis case. There is a tool to convert acceleration in time function to spectrum, it is function of aceleration depending on vibration periods. As a result of spectral analysis you will get maximum response for each dynamic modes or their combinations.

limd
2010-04-26, 05:02 AM
The seismic analysis I've done in robot under eurocode 8 is using the acceleration spectrum response. I guess it's the same thing as the spectral analysis.