PDA

View Full Version : Threads and Other Revit Forums

Griff
2004-12-14, 03:36 PM
I was having, and still am having a problem with a window family that I posted yesterday. Learning how to build families is an important part of my goals for this year, cuz to tell the truth, I'm not very good at it yet.

This newsgroup is looking at adding additional Forums. The problem I have with having several Revit Forums is that now my thread has been moved to the Families Forum and I haven't gotten any responses since. Once a thread gets moved out of General, its chances of getting posts definitely go down. I think other Forums are great for archiving threads into categories, but do others typically view those other Forums? I don't know how other users view these Forums but I typically only view the Revit General Forum unless I have a specific issue I'm looking at.

Is it possible to have a thread remain on the General Forum for a week or so, or until resolved? I am the only one around here that is using Revit, so when I come across a problem, this forum is my main source of help.

bclarch
2004-12-14, 04:16 PM
I believe that most regular visitors to these forums search for all new posts when they log on. Having separate forums definitely helps when using the advance search option to filter your search. Someone using the advance search to narrow their search might miss a relevant post if a family related question remained in the general section for weeks. If someone has an answer to your question they will eventually see it and post. Otherwise it might just mean that there isn't a known solution at this time.

Griff
2004-12-14, 04:45 PM
Maybe I'm in the minority and not using this forum the way it was intended. I'll look into searching for new posts in all the Revit forums and see if that works better. I just haven't had many responses once the thread gets moved out of General.

Scott D Davis
2004-12-14, 05:03 PM