PDA

View Full Version : linking, version and build

MikeJarosz
2010-09-14, 02:58 PM
In the Revit 2011 manual I have, in order for sharing and linking to work properly, it claims that everyone must have the same version and build. (Krygiel/Read/Vandezande p. 198)

Well, what if the whole team doesn't have the same build? The manual doesn't go into that. What can I expect not to work? What if we have a mix of 32 & 64 bit machines? In my previous life as a Revit manager, I didn't have to worry about this issue.

How do I manage projects when we have joint ventures with many different firms around the country? One day we work with SOM, next day it's Gensler. Throw in the engineers, and I probably have a minestrone of builds!

Seriously, am I up the (Revit) creek here?

cliff collins
2010-09-14, 03:10 PM
In the Revit 2011 manual I have, in order for sharing and linking to work properly, it claims that everyone must have the same version and build. (Krygiel/Read/Vandezande p. 198)

Well, what if the whole team doesn't have the same build? The manual doesn't go into that. What can I expect not to work? What if we have a mix of 32 & 64 bit machines? In my previous life as a Revit manager, I didn't have to worry about this issue.

How do I manage projects when we have joint ventures with many different firms around the country? One day we work with SOM, next day it's Gensler. Throw in the engineers, and I probably have a minestrone of builds!

Seriously, am I up the (Revit) creek here?

Best practice is to have all teams on the same build. If not, files can become corrupt.
Good dialogue between all offices regarding current build is very important. A good BIM Kickoff meeting with all team members before work begins is critical. It's
not a real big deal to get everyone on the same build--the new builds are "Service packs"
which install quickly and can be deployed via network, and do not usually require a complete install on all workstations.