PDA

View Full Version : Storefront mullion question

DaveP
2004-12-22, 05:56 PM
This is my first attempt at a storefront, so please be gentle with me.

I've added a storefront inside an existing wall, works fine. Set up the mullion spacing to 3' horizontal, 8' vertical. The whole thing is 4' high, so the only horizontal mullions are top & bottom of the "window". Now I go to change the Grids into Mullions and my problems begin.

First issue: I don't have any mullions loaded, so I found some in the Imperial Library\Profiles\Curtain Wall - WAY too detailed, and the Mullion command says they are the wrong category, anyway. So I load up the tutorial on Curtain Walls (i_rvt7_Curtain_Walls) and steal the Mullions from there. I had to copy to clipboard & Paste to my project. Isn't there a way to Save the Family?

Second issue: after I got a mullion imported, I did All Empty Segments, and now have mullions where I want them. Only problem is, every one of the vertical mullions goes all the way to the top & bottom of the window. I have to change the Mullion Join for every mullion. Is there a way to either specify the "outside" mullion is a frame and should be the strong on (not cut). Or, is there a simple way to select all the vertical mullions and change the join on all of them at once?

Allen Lacy
2004-12-22, 06:06 PM
First issue: I don't have any mullions loaded, so I found some in the Imperial Library\Profiles\Curtain Wall - WAY too detailed, and the Mullion command says they are the wrong category, anyway. So I load up the tutorial on Curtain Walls (i_rvt7_Curtain_Walls) and steal the Mullions from there. I had to copy to clipboard & Paste to my project. Isn't there a way to Save the Family? Sounds like you may have purged the mullions from your template or project. You could have loaded the default template and copied and pasted from that. If it's your template that doesn't have mullions loaded, then you need to add them to the template and save as a template.