PDA

View Full Version : Combining floors of a building

Joseph TVM
2010-10-29, 10:02 AM
Hi all

I have got a large project and I am planning to do it by assigning different floors to different members. I need to combine the floors into on file in the end. Is this feasible? Or should I be planning it by doing it in a single revit file and doing it using worksets. If so could you please give a briefing on how to use worksets as I have never done that before.

Awaiting replies

Thank You
Joseph Bejoy
Senior Cad Engineer
Trivandrum

Scott Womack
2010-10-29, 11:37 AM
First, Revit is NOT CAD. It operates nothing like cad.

You will only be able to combine the floors by linking them together. This could make documentation a living nightmare. Worksets create a central file, which all of your users can working at the same time, by creating local copies on their machines.

One way to approach would be to create a workset for each floor, although that is not really necessary.

The Help file has a lot of info on worksets. It seems (and I'm sorry if I offend) that you need some training on Revit. At least try buying one ofthe third party books.

Joseph TVM
2010-10-29, 12:51 PM
Yes... I have just started using Revit recently and the output we prefer is mainly CAD based.

Joseph TVM
2010-10-29, 01:44 PM
Hi

Got the info from help file and we have started the project. We dropped the idea of worksets and have gone for linking the floors finally after the completion of floors just like you had mentioned. Thank You very much for your reply

cliff collins
2010-10-29, 03:44 PM
It sounds like you are coming from a Cadd/ADT/ACA methodology and trying to apply it to Revit.

I'd suggest that you strongly consider a Central File and Worksets--any time you have 2 or more members working on the project. This is how Revit is designed to work.

Scott's post is actually NOT recommending that you use ONLY linked models, without worksets.

You can indeed use both--as is standard practice.