PDA

View Full Version : Odd things happening with divided surface panels

david.31295
2011-02-03, 05:15 PM
Hi All,

I have been using Revit in Anger for a couple of years now, and consider myself a competent user, but this has got me stumped.

I need a 2D rectangular parametric array that can come down to a 1x1 grid. Someone has suggested to me that I can accomplish this using Divided Surfaces. Having not used them before, I have given it a go, but I seem to be getting odd results.

I have set up a 2D surface on plan and divided it up in a rectangular grid. It is parametric and working fine. The 'Panel' that I have created to populate this with is - for testing purposes - a column object brought into the panel family as a nested object. The issue I am having is that I cannot stop this column object from rotating and it is driving me nuts.

Please can anyone in the AUGI world explain what I am doing wrong.

Kind Regards

Dave Hoskin

david.31295
2011-02-10, 02:05 PM
Bump!

Anyone able to help Please?

Cheers

Dave

Scott D Davis
2011-02-10, 05:35 PM
I've downlaoded your file and can't figure it out! I've sent it off internally to get some more help...stay tuned!

Scott D Davis
2011-02-11, 03:57 PM
Ok, here's what I have found out about your family. Because you are nesting in a column family thats hosted upon a Level, Revit doesn't really know what to do with it once it gets into a divided surface, which has no "level". Why does it rotate? Not sure exactly, but it does the same with any column family that gets nested in, even the OOTB ones.

So what to do? Try making the column out of a Faced-based generic model family, and then change the category to column, then nest that into the divided surface family. Or you could use an Adaptive Component with the category changed to column.

Let me know if that helps!

david.31295
2011-02-11, 04:36 PM
Hi Scott, thanks for the tip. I will definitely have a go at that.